jarring comp causes no response - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-02-2004, 06:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default jarring comp causes no response

if my computer gets jarred or bumped too hard like if it is set down too hard (didn't think it was that hard a bump)my monitor light goes from green to orange and the screen blacks out. I get no response from trying to shut it down using windows key>arrow up(to shut down)>enter>enter which should shut the computer down if the rest of the computer is responding.

now i've done the obvious like making sure all parts and cards and cables are secure and not loose. Could this possibly be an issue of the HD going bad?
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 06:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

get a new monitor.
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 07:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

ain't the monitor....its the tower that got bumped.....
jaksback is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 08:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

err...go into the comp an make sure the vid card is sercure and that no damage is done to it. I used to kick my pc sometimes, and nothing has happened although i dont suggest doing it. If that does work, take out the monitor cord and wait a little with the pc off and then put it back in. Sometimes helps with my old monitor.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-02-2004, 09:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

the card is secure....the monitor new....the vid card relatively new...well, i'll just have to stop the the drop tests i guess.....
jaksback is offline  
Old 07-03-2004, 08:58 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,007
Default

i'll try that
__________________

jaksback is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.