It's a bird, It's a plane, No it's my messed up harddrive again! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2005, 06:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default It's a bird, It's a plane, No it's my messed up harddrive again!

Today, was a sad day indeed. I actually got my Computer to work for a while, but then it froze in BF2 so i had to reboot. I got it to work by taking out the battery on the mobo. Too bad when I rebooted, it gave me the same problem again. New doors have been opened though, when I take out the battery, and put it back in, it gives me access to BIOS, there must be a way to boot my pc that way.

"ERROR harddrive problem detected, contact you user manual for troubleshooting options"

"press enter to continue"

From there nothing happens, it takes me to a random screen that says "press f4 to continue" which does nothing.

More advice as what to do is still appriciated.

Thanks
__________________

Powerslave is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 06:41 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

did you get a chance to run a disk check before this happened? If you have another controller cable lying around swap it out and only connect the hdd to see if that is the issue (sometimes its the simplest thing)

Other than that you may need to flash your bios
__________________

__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 06:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

how do i flash my bios?
Powerslave is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 06:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

Will it make me have to reinstall drivers and winxp? because i dont have ANY of those disks anymore as they got lost in a move.
Powerslave is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 06:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

bios flashing is dangerous and involved, I am not the one to help with that. Nubius you here?
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-24-2005, 06:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,241
Send a message via AIM to Powerslave
Default

nubius we need your wisdom here, and fast!
__________________

Powerslave is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.