Itanium 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-09-2005, 01:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Default Itanium 2

Im looking for some advice. I recently picked up two Itanium 2 processors. I am looking to build a system with these. I have no idea where to start. I have not been able to locate a motherboard, so i am starting to wonder if its possible to homebuild a system. If anyone has any advice or experiance in this situation, please help!
__________________

slabside is offline  
Old 03-09-2005, 06:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

Itaniums are server processors. Its gonna be expensive.

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...roperty&DEPA=0

Good luck.
__________________

__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 03-10-2005, 07:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

What are you going to do with this computer? I hope your not going to play games.. It will probably be very expensive to find a mobo for that chip witch supports AGP or PCI Express.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 02:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Default No games

No games.

My goal was to use it to crunch Seti@Home units. While doubling as a file print server.

I would like to find a mobo that has at the least SATA for the file storage, onboard video and audio will be fine. USB is a must.
slabside is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 09:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Default

^
slabside is offline  
Old 03-11-2005, 10:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

are you sure they are Itanium 2's? I thought they were specifically designed to be used in supercomputers
I've seen some Itanium 1's being sold with computers though
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.