Issues Installing New Mobo - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2005, 05:18 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to PiLLaGe
Default

Okay, fixed that. Now I have a different issue.

Computer turned on .. I went into BIOS and set everything to fail-safe default. Then when I save and exit and computer resets, I see:

Boot from CD:
Boot from CD:
DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISKA ND PRESS ENTER.

(I have IS7 motherboard. Any ideas here on how to resolve this issue?)
__________________

PiLLaGe is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 05:31 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

Are you tring to install windows? do you have a hard drive plugged in with windows on it? It cant find an os. Is this a brand new build?
ps how did you fix your monitor problem?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 05:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to PiLLaGe
Default

No, the hard-drive should already have windows on it ... as well as all my music and important files The only thing brand new about it is the mobo. How should I set my boot priority?

p.s. I did a few things. I unplugged everything and replugged it all back in. I changed my headsink. Took out and put back in my processor. Changed RAM slots. Changed my HD from select to master. Reset my CMOS.
PiLLaGe is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 05:43 PM   #14 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

nice work my guess is the ram switch did the trick. Does bios recognize your hard drive? I prefer to set boot to 1. hd 2. floppy 3. cdrom realizing that I may need to switch this if I want to boot from a cd with my OS installed. boot hapens a little faster if bios is not searching floppies and cd's prior to boot.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 05:47 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to PiLLaGe
Default

"1. hd 2. flppy 3. cdrom"

HD = Hard Disk = Hard Drive?, right?

And how do I check if bios recognizes hard drive.
PiLLaGe is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 05:50 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Send a message via AIM to PiLLaGe
Default

And if it doesn't recognize, what should I do? Set jumper settings to select? I'm newb.
PiLLaGe is offline  
Old 11-18-2005, 06:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default

you are right about hd = harddrive. First make sure it is plugged in correctly. for a pata drive which is most likely what you have should just have to plug ide cable (wide wirelike cable) into back of hd and then into mb. plug in molex (power 4 plug thing) into hd You can look in bios under primary ide channel and see if it lists your hd. (unless you have a sata drive is so let us know)
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.