iso images - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-26-2006, 01:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default iso images

I want to make a bootable ISO image of my windows 2000 SP4 CD.
I have heard you can do this, but i dont know how...can anybody point me to tutorials of how to do this?

*i have MagicISO btw*
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 01:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

an iso image will not be bootable. if you mean you would like to *cough* backup your windows disc use disc to disc copy if you have more than one drive. if not just use an iso creator like the one you mentioned to rip as an ISO and then burn the image to disc. don't burn it as a data disc though, make sure you select "burn image to disc" or similar in your burning software
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 01:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

the reason i need the ISO image is so i can boot off the CD and install windows 2000 on a different computer.

would it be easier to download a bootdisk and then insert the cd-rom?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 02:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

oh, so are you saying that this is not a bootable disc? in that case i can't remember how to make it bootable. you could google it or as you said just use another boot disc
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 02:22 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

yes, the disc is not bootable..i dont know why?

i'll google and see what comes up
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 04:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

I use UltraISO......I just had to use it yesterday to make an ISO image of my WinXP CD but I needed to add some other files for my grandmas computer into it......of course it is naturally bootable to begin with. Anywho, I'm pretty sure UltraISO has options to make the ISO image bootable when you've burned it to a new CD
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-26-2006, 10:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

i'll check it out.

is it free or do you have to buy it?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-27-2006, 02:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 506
Default

You can dl a trial version for free, but I think it has a 300MB ISO limit on it.
__________________

cedjunior is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.