Isn't the Apple VS PC battle a misnomer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mikejungle

Beta member
Hi, newbie here, so I hope this isn't a sensitive topic.

But isn't the Mac VS PC battle a misnomer for the Apple VS Microsoft battle?

Essentially, I feel that Apple computers fit under the PC umbrella b/c they are personal computers...they just made a separate niche for themselves by coming standard with their OS and not the standard windows of other PC's. It doesn't seem like the hardware is that much different to necessitate the question Mac or PC.

It seems that the arguably "intuitive" nature of the OS X is what people seem to favor over the older windows OS's, although it seems the gap has closed since then. And even then, programs like rainmeter and other linux based OS's can be used to make windows look like osx and vice versa. Customization was never an issue more than people not knowing about what else was out there.

I could be wrong (which is why I'm asking the question in the first place), so please, without fighting, tell me the pros and cons if there are any to each system.

I've disliked ipods for a long long time, because I felt like they used slick marketing to grab a crowd that didn't know any better. As a semi-audiophile, there were other players out there that offered much more in the way of sound quality at a similar, if not cheaper price. Up until the ipod 2g, i thought the sound quality sucked balls, but I listened to some music through an iphone 3gs and it was much, much better.

Kudos to apple for being successful; not so much to undiscerning consumers.

anyway. opinions are just opinions, so please don't filet me-or others-over them.