IRQ problem with MSI KT4 Ultra - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2004, 06:43 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
Default IRQ problem with MSI KT4 Ultra

I have an annoying IRQ share between the motherboard on-board sound and the AGP slot which holds my Radeon 9700 pro.

Both use IRQ 16, and although there are no conflicts shown in the device manager, I'm pretty sure I'm getting crashes as a consequence.

XP pro won't let me change the IRQ assignments for either of these devices (area is greyed out on the properties box). The motherboard BIOS will let me assign IRQs for my PCI slots but not for the onboard sound or AGP.

Help! (Before I waste money on a PCI sound card, and disable the onboard sound)
__________________

pilchardthecat is offline  
Old 01-10-2004, 01:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

try and find a bios whitch has the ablities to do such a thing and flash it. Your bios should allow you to set it though. If no irq is on 10 or 11 put it onto one of those. and try that pci sound card you can dig crap ones up dirt cheap. See if you still get crashes and than you know its not that irq lines.
Fyi-Some bios alow 2 devices to be on the same irq. Hence irq line sharing. just something to know
__________________

XT is offline  
Old 01-10-2004, 11:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

yes micro i know about the sharing. and how it works i was just saying to the guy it might be a possablity that it could be an other problem. Not likely no but an idea yes. And yea out of the factory i wouldn't know why its on the same irq channel possably intended for irq sharing?
XT is offline  
Old 01-13-2004, 10:44 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 2
Default

hi,

i will post the file when i can (am at work at the moment on a different machine)

I think i may have solved the problem of crashing, by disabling agp8x and going down to agp4x. I've also turned off fast-write and havent had a crash in about 3 hours of run-time. Having said that i've gone 3 hours before without a crash and then had 10 in an hours so....

on principle i would like my radeon to have a irq to itself
... its annoying that i cant configure this
pilchardthecat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.