ipod wont connect - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2005, 05:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 124
Angry ipod wont connect

I have my ipod for a few weeks now and it has been fine. I enabled disk use a while ago so i could put some files on its hard drive. Yesterday when I connected it to my computer nothing happened it didn't open itunes to start updating. I left it connected for a few minutes and it started to charge but it never updating and I couldn't find it in itunes or windows explorer. I connected it to another computer and same results. None of out computers have a 6 pin firewire port so I couldn't try that. I thought it was the USB cable so I ordered a replaced from apple it came within 24 hrs but same problem it wouldn't update but after a few minutes it started recharging. Please help me.

Thanks in Advance,
Robert
__________________

__________________
http://img66.imageshack.us/img66/2982/email2aq.png
[size=1]New build
dfi lanparty sli-dr
amd x2 3800+
evga 7800GTX
2 gigs (2 x 1gig) ocz ram
500 gigs (250gb x2) seagate hard drive
RAID 0
Windows XP Home Edition
mooseman is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 05:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
synergy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: 15 Hive
Posts: 2,284
Send a message via MSN to synergy Send a message via Yahoo to synergy
Default

Use the iPod utility that installed on your PC to restore the iPod to factory condition. You will have to plug it into the AC adapter to flash it after it is done restoring. Once that is done you should be able to see it in iTunes. Plug it in first then run iTunes though.

Just curious did you format it in Windows Explorer because it said you needed to? I did that and had the same problem you are having. The problem w/ doing that is it gets rid of the iPod software that runs the device.
__________________

__________________
i7 2600K | TRUE 120 w/ Xigmatek XLF-F1253 | Asus Sabertooth P67 | 16 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
EVGA GTX 560Ti | 256 GB Plextor M3 SSD |80 GB Intel X25-M SSD | Corsair Graphite 600T
Coolermaster Purepower 850W | Samsung 25.5" 1920x1200 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit


HTPC: AMD FX-4100 3.6 GHz | Gigabyte GA-880GM mATX w/ ATI Radeon HD 4250 | 8 GB G.Skill RipjawX DDR3 1600
LG Blu-Ray/HD-DVD ROM + DVD RW | 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD | WD Caviar 1 TB | Antec Veris Fusion Black HTPC Case
Logitech diNovo Edge KB | Win7 Pro 64-bit
3dMark06 23,159 | 3dMark Vantage 23,579 | TF2 Stats Page | BC2 Stats | BF3 Stats
MCSE (SharePoint 2013), MCITP & MCTS (SharePoint 2010), CIW
synergy is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 06:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 124
Default

It wont connect at all so i cant restore it and I haven't done anything different so I dont know why it just suddenly stopped.
__________________
http://img66.imageshack.us/img66/2982/email2aq.png
[size=1]New build
dfi lanparty sli-dr
amd x2 3800+
evga 7800GTX
2 gigs (2 x 1gig) ocz ram
500 gigs (250gb x2) seagate hard drive
RAID 0
Windows XP Home Edition
mooseman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.