ipod as a hdd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-01-2006, 05:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default ipod as a hdd

so, i need to reformat my computer but there are files i still need...can i use my ipod as an external hdd? and if so how can i do this? i tried to google it but nothing really came up.
__________________

compy is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 05:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Did you really google? 768 posts and you cant Google...

This was the first post that came up:
http://www.applelinks.com/index.php/...al_hard_drive/
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 05-01-2006, 06:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

first of all that link doesn't work

and second of all when i googled it the only things that came up was tranfer files from pc to mac and making your ipod 300gigs and the other stuff were posts from other people that never got awnsered : |


found something. : P
compy is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 01:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
!!GAMER!!
 
fr34ky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Southeast,AZ
Posts: 509
Default

I use my ipod so I never lose my music whenever I reformat.Also do u have a DVd burner.Thats 4.7gb each disc or 8gb wit DL .
__________________
fr34ky is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 01:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
ulater6000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Alaska
Posts: 757
Send a message via AIM to ulater6000 Send a message via Yahoo to ulater6000
Default

I remember back before I knew how to partriton my HDD I had to burn all my files onto like 20 blank disks before I reformated.

Now I can just move files to one partrition then reformat the other. You should do the same.
__________________
CompTIA A+, CompTIA Network+, Cisco CCENT, Cisco CCNA Routing & Switching
ulater6000 is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 10:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 350
Default

Can't really do that when one is 80 one is 30 :/.
__________________
Kitire is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 10:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

you can just plug your ipod into the usb port, and open it up as a removable- drive, in xp that is. then you can just click and drag the files
kfc469 is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 10:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 94
Default

yea you can use ur ipod as a hdd. right now i have about 3 movies, Doom3, and a bunch of pictures on my ipod (20 gig 3rd gen).
yoshiemaster is offline  
Old 05-28-2006, 01:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 59
Send a message via AIM to pukgandi
Default

if you put music on an ipod then reformat and plug it back into a computer doesnt it delete evererything.
pukgandi is offline  
Old 05-29-2006, 12:38 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

sure does
__________________

__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.