"Invalid System Disk" - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2003, 08:51 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: US
Posts: 3,313
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by LunaNox
Ok... so wait.

I make this boot disk using a floppy disk. I enter it into the computer and then start it.

Why would I have to have it boot to the CD? Is is supposed to boot to the WIN98 CD that we already have or the boot disk I'm about to make?
Think of the floppy you are using as jump-start. You install the floppy and it installs the main files that you HAVE TO HAVE for 9x. It gets the rest from the CD.
__________________

__________________
You could say I've been around.
Shakie
Shakie is offline  
Old 10-22-2003, 08:57 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to LunaNox
Default

Ok, thank you much!

I might be getting back you all when I try this out.

I hope not though! I want this to work!!
__________________

LunaNox is offline  
Old 10-22-2003, 11:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

www.bootdisk.com

download win98 bootdisk, extract on 1 a floppy, start up with a floppy inserted, boom everythin fixed
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 10-22-2003, 11:14 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to skbandi
Default

so many errors from the config.sys can be due to some corrupt RAM modules also. if ur problem is not solved with the bootdisk, try removing one by one , the RAM modules if u have more than one or replace it with another just to be sure that the RAM is not the problem.
then boot it form the boot disk, go to the CD drive and start setup of the OS u r installing.
skbandi is offline  
Old 10-23-2003, 11:03 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to LunaNox
Default

All right, so am I downloading the Win 98 OEM file??

Or should I just download both of them to see if they will work?

And the RAM part. I'm not very technical with the whole inside of the computer. You wanna tell me exactly where these are located/what to do?

Thanks a bunch!
LunaNox is offline  
Old 10-23-2003, 01:48 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3
Default

i had that same problem a few weeks ago. it turns out the floppy drive was bad, and for some reason it wouldnt let me install the OS without the drive enabled. so, i replaced the drive and all problems were solved. not saying that this is the same scenario, but, it just seems awfuly familiar.
cdzcomputers is offline  
Old 10-23-2003, 08:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to LunaNox
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MicroBell
Yoink.......this conversation is going in another direction...LOL Ok..last I heard...you were able to boot to the Win98 CDROM and had two options... a: Boot to Win98 OEM, b: Boot to Win98 (No Ram Drive).... So..which one did you choose..and what happened?

Ok, when I boot up the system from the CDROM I get two choices. If I want to 1) boot from the CD or 2) boot from the hard drive.

When I select one, it gives the whole list of errors dealing with the config.sys file.

And when I select two, it gives me the "invalid system disk" error again.

Boot Win98 OEM and Boot 98 No Ram Drive were the two types of boot disks I could make from www.bootdisk.com that someone (sorry...don't remember your name) suggested I do.

LunaNox is offline  
Old 10-24-2003, 12:36 PM   #18 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 161
Default

OK, dealing with your config.sys problem, are you still able to boot the computer? If you can do a fresh restart as in to format the hard drive. then try to install the OS. Go into the BIOS, change the drive order to CD install then change it back to C:
Cherubimon_3.20 is offline  
Old 10-24-2003, 12:55 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to LunaNox
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cherubimon_3.20
OK, dealing with your config.sys problem, are you still able to boot the computer?
Yea, we can boot the computer, but we can't get into the actual OS. It just stops working in the middle of loading.
Quote:
If you can do a fresh restart as in to format the hard drive. then try to install the OS. Go into the BIOS, change the drive order to CD install then change it back to C:
A fresh restart? How would I go about doing that? All we can do when it says the "invalid system disk" is to just hit the power button and turn it off. That's all. How do I format the hard drive?
LunaNox is offline  
Old 10-24-2003, 08:18 PM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to LunaNox
Default

New Problem!!

All right, my dear dear friend has recently informed me that the floppy drive did not work before all of this happened.

We're going to try it anyway, but we're not sure if it's going to work.

I might be back!
__________________

LunaNox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.