Internet programs crash almost immediately after I open them - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2005, 07:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
og5
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 98
Default Internet programs crash almost immediately after I open them

Hey guys, I bought a new computer a few days ago and noticed some problems with my programs crashing yesterday after I installed some memory. I ran memtest and determined the memory is fine, the problem seems to be with my internet connection. The programs that access the internet (file sharing, online games etc) crash soon after I open them. Also I can not log into some other forums, when i enter my details its says i am logged in but the site still shows me as logged out when the page refreshes. (at least on this site I am loggged in until I close the window)

The login problem sounds like an issue with my cookies, I'm not sure what the former problem is because the programs were working fine the day before. I had windows firewall allow all the programs to access the internet and still get this problem. Any idea what is causing this?

Thanks

EDIT forgot to mention I have cable internet
__________________

og5 is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 07:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

We need specs.

1. Run PCbugdocotor
2. PC Rescue 2.0
3. Registry Mechanic
4. All this should be done in safe mode.
5. Use Firefox
6. Run AV
If you don't have any or some of these programs, PM me. I'll e-mail you them.

PS: I ain't going to send viruses man, I ain't a *****.
__________________

__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 07:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
og5
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 98
Default

pm sent
og5 is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 08:50 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

That's pretty good advice above, but remeber an antispyware program like microsoft antispyware beta

However if your gettign prebuilt PC's, if you have another windows CD laying around I recomend completly reinstalling windows on any new system. Dell and crap put spyware on your PC
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 08:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Why wouyld Dell do that?
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 10:04 PM   #6 (permalink)
og5
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 98
Default

I ran the following programs:

Pcbugdoctor
norton antivirus (full system scan)
Adaware

The problem is still there. Has anyone had something similiar happen? (internet programs crashing soon after opening)

EDIT here are the specs

Bezel Assembly: Bezel, Nexgen 3LC complete frame assy
Chassis: Chassis, Nexgen 3 main chassis frame
CPU: CPU,ATHLONXP 3000 462P SEMPRON 333FSB512
CPU Fan Type: FAN,H/S AMD 3200+ 462P CLRMSTR DP5-7151E
HDD: HDD, 80GB 7200rpm
Keyboard Model: KB, premium black KB-0108,PS/2 port
LAN: LAN, 10/100 Integrated
MB: MB, K7MNF-64/1.1A
Memory: MEM,DDR-RAM 256MB (MAX. 2GB)
Modem: MODEM,FAX CONEXANT 56K RD01-D850
Mouse: Mouse, silver wheel black gloss and no logo
ODD1: DVDRW,16X Dual Layer
Power Supply: PS, 300 Watt
Speaker: SPEAKER EM 2.0
Video: Video, integrated

The new ram I installed yesterday
DDRAM RSWLL| 1GB PC3200 RET (Serial#: ZCMBMM17OKDA42)

Thanks for any help
og5 is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 10:25 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Try a regformat.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 10:49 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah that would be your best option as it seems that it actually maybee a windows flaw.

If you can, it's REALLY better to use a proper XP disc (preferably with Service Pack 2) instead of a dell, compaq, HP ect cd.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 10:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
og5
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 98
Default

thing is I don't have any backup disk at all! (I asked the office depot guy why and he said "they" stopped including them with computers about 4 years ago) There was a recovery cd utility but it gave me problems with the 4rth (last) cd and I canceled it. I guess I better call emachines.
__________________

og5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.