Internet Connection, CPU Problem? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-09-2006, 07:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16
Default Internet Connection, CPU Problem?

Don't ask me why, long story, but I'm trying to put internet on a old computer I have, it has windows xp because the previous owner put it on there. Problem is, its a old computer with something like a 450mhz P3. When I connect to the internet on AOL it connects at like 6k I think its because the CPU can't handle xp and aol. When I ctrl+alt+del it says its running @ like 100%. So my question is is it the cpu? Or is the modem jacked? Though I'm pretty sure it has something to do with xp being on a crappy p3.
__________________

Tech57@TSTC is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 09:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

It's the modem.

On dial-up, you will never get the full 56Kb/s.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 08:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default

right...but you also, how much ram do have?
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 11:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i doubt it is the cpu but there are a myriad of other causes
Nitestick is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 12:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16
Default

It has 128 ram. I still think its the CPU.
Tech57@TSTC is offline  
Old 06-10-2006, 02:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

The CPU does not regulate how fast data streams into your modem; the modem itself does that. I agree that running XP on a 450mhz P3 is bad, but it's not hindering your connection speed; at worst, it would only hinder how fast the pages load on your screen.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 02:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16
Default

When I go check properties it says the modem is running fine.
Tech57@TSTC is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 03:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yeah well the install for XP also says it is the safest version ever but i've had more viruses even with anti-virus installed than i've had on a 98se computer without antivirus. trust me it is not the cpu, you can run on far less than that.i had a p-166MMX@200mhz with 64mb of EDO RAM running windows XP with reasonable comfort and a connection speed of ~46kbps. it is either the modem, the phone line or the fact that AOL is just useless.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.