Internal Hard Drive Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-12-2006, 12:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 24
Default Internal Hard Drive Questions

I am pretty new to computer hardware and im trying to build a computer lol but I wanted to know for best possible performance on a gaming rig..should I be looking at a single big hard drive or multiple smaller hard drives?
__________________

TheKid06 is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 01:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to Overdriven6
Default

Get a pair of Western Digital Raptors and set them up for RAID0. Do a goole search on it! Basically what raptors are are super fast harddrives. Most hard drives spin at 7200 Rpms. Raptors spin at 10000 rpms. Now, RAID0 is a configuration that allows for half of the information on your harddrives to be stored on one harddrive, and half on the other. This way your computer can retrieve data twice as fast. Mixed in with an already faster spinning harddrive, youve got yourself the fastest data retrieval system you can buy!!!
__________________

Overdriven6 is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 06:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Yeh, I heard about Raid 0. I also heard that if one of your hard drives fails while using Raid 0...you loose all your information. Is this true?
TheKid06 is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 07:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

yes it is , therfore you shouldnt be using raid0 unless you have a third internal or external hard drive for backup purposes
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 07:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Ah, Okay. How would you set that up for the third drive to be backup?
TheKid06 is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 07:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Another question. Will the back up drives speed affect your systems performance or is it just there for back up?
TheKid06 is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 07:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheKid06
How would you set that up for the third drive to be backup?
with any backup software , theres alot of em personally i like good sync

Quote:
Originally posted by TheKid06
Will the back up drives speed affect your systems performance or is it just there for back up?
it wont affect system performance as the backup is gonna run at scheduled times only and not in real time (daily at a certain hour for example)
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-12-2006, 07:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Oh, Okay. Thanks for your help jeremy!
__________________

TheKid06 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.