Interesting problems - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2005, 08:08 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Ok, I ran it and rebooted and the test came up. But after like 3 hours, my patience ran out and I rebooted. What am I looking for in this test, exactly? It seemed that the same things kept coming up over and over again.
__________________

Regulus is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 08:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 106
Default

I think you should also check your hard drive for problems. Is it making any abnormal noises?
Find out what the brand of hard drive it is, then get a diagnostic utility to put on a CD boot disc or a floppy.


You should be able to get this from the manufacturers' website.
__________________

__________________
<b><a href=\"http://www.switchphase.net\" target=\"_blank\">Computer and I.T. solutions for small business</a></b><br><b><a href=\"http://www.laptoprepairdirect.com\" target=\"_blank\">Laptop Repair Direct</a></b>
switch is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 08:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

Noises...well, while I was starting that memtest, a familiar noise started up. It sounded like a mildly high-pitched humming. I don't think it has been doing that forever, but it also hasn't started that noise recently.
I dunno why it would be the HD. I'll check the stuff on the HD, but I don't think that would have anything to do with it.
Regulus is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 08:47 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

If it shows errors in memtest it's saying the RAM is bad. If it says 0 errors, especially after 3 hours then the RAM is fine.
Nubius is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 08:50 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 821
Default

I didn't see any errors pop up for the first 45 minutes but I don't know about the rest of the time. Should I run the test again to see? I'm gonna be going to bed in a bit, so that would be a good time to run it, then check it in the morning.
Regulus is offline  
Old 02-12-2005, 08:52 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

it only takes like 25-30 mins to do one full test rotation, meaning tests 1-7, there's also the extended tests which runs 12 different tests, but if it passes once chances are you're good to go but you could let it run overnight if you wanted.

You could always get an HD diagnostic program to see if the HD is causing trouble.

When was the last time that comp was formatted or even defragged for that matter.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.