Intel's new GPU on 2008-2009 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2007, 04:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Intel's new GPU on 2008-2009

Quote:
Intel's Visual Computing Group (VCG) gave an interesting overview of the discrete graphics plans this week. There seems to be a few interesting developments down the pipeline that could prove quite a challenge to NVIDIA and AMD in 2 years time. As already stated on their website, the group is focused on developing advanced products based on a many-core architecture targeting high-end client platforms initially. Their first flagship product for games and graphics intensive applications is likely to happen in late 2008-09 timeframe and the GPU is based on multi-core architecture. We heard there could be as many as 16 graphics cores packed into a single die.

The process technology we speculate for such product is probably at 32nm judging from the timeframe. Intel clearly has the advantage of their advanced process technology since they are always at least one node ahead of their competitors and they are good in tweaking for better yield. Intel is likely use back their CPU naming convention on GPU so you could probably guess that the highest end could be called Extreme Edition and there should be mainstream and value editions. The performance? How about 16x performance of any fastest graphics card out there now [referring to G80] as claimed. Anyway it is hard to speculate who will lead by then as it will be DX10.1/11 era with NVIDIA G9x and ATi R7xx around.
http://www.vr-zone.com/?i=4605
http://www.theinquirer.net/default.aspx?article=37548
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 06:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

interesting
__________________

__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 06:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Is it true that a manufacturer such as HP, Acer, IBM can't use Intel graphics and an AMD processor?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 10:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
Is it true that a manufacturer such as HP, Acer, IBM can't use Intel graphics and an AMD processor?

... Intel graphics are used on INTEL CHIPSETS.

Try sticking an AMD into a motherboard with an Intel chipset. I dare you.

All AMD integrated graphics are SiS, S3 or NForce, stuff like that.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.