Intel Pentium D, the 4 has been dropped - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2005, 08:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default Intel Pentium D, the 4 has been dropped

http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/cpu/dis...301050146.html

Regarding their dual cores which are appearantly supposed to be released a quarter earlier than expected which means Intel will have the dual cores out before AMD. Each core will be off of prescott design, which wasn't it the prescott that ran hot as it is? Believe somewhere in that article it said it won't be applicable to a lot of the current LGA-775 boards out right now.

Don't know. Can't wait until AMD has dual cores out too. Appearantly Intel is lowering clock speeds too with the addition of the dual cores because of the 'new effectiveness' in which they work
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 09:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

The wording in that article gave the most "hope" anyways for current board support though, compared to other articles I have read.

These chips coming out really should be good for both Intel and AMD as it will get the technology out there which then, through competition, have both company's fight to make them better.

It still seems like the 6xx series and now the "D", are kind of interim chips. I think it will be a name liek P5 that will combine these techologies with faster clock speeds and hopefully rip off AMD's HTT
__________________

__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 09:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Meh, I think Intel is taking a dive bomb and are frantically trying to come out with something good to compete with after that emberassing article of it taking subzero temps and 5.2GHz to compete with the FX-55 lol
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 09:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

I'm scared. Two prescotts running at around 7ghz total. I might wake up one morning to find myself in a pool of water because the heat melted the polar ice caps.
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 09:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Nah it's not going to be 3.2GHz per core I believe. That's going to be the approx power of the combined cores, but 2 will be more efficient than one at say 3.8GHz
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 09:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to bigstanklo
Default

From what I've read about those chips, they're a lil too late and the FX-55 and other AMD chips will still clearly outperform intel in the gaming arena (which is what the dual core chips are targeting). So once i get the money up i will most likely buy an FX-51 or FX-55. Just my 2 cents on the subject.
bigstanklo is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 09:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
From what I've read about those chips, they're a lil too late and the FX-55 and other AMD chips will still clearly outperform intel in the gaming arena (which is what the dual core chips are targeting). So once i get the money up i will most likely buy an FX-51 or FX-55. Just my 2 cents on the subject.
Yeah I'm gonna have to pretty much agree with that.

I finally got my system up to a what I consider a good all around machine. 6600GT, 1gb of good RAM, that CAN OC quite well, but unfortunately a high FSB will cause my games to crash, but not any application...hoping it was just my crappy FX 5700 causing that, haven't gotten the 6600GT yet, just ordered it.

But yeah I figure this will last me atleast a year then I'll upgrade to PCI-E, Socket 939, and get a dual core CPU assuming I can afford it
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 09:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default

Hmm it looks like intel is gettin a lil scared dont you think?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 03-02-2005, 10:35 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I should get a dual core presscott. It's only 18 degrees celcious down here. Make it a bit comfier
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-03-2005, 12:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Meh, lets just wait and see how many problems arise when they are first released. As that article said, currently the LGA-775 motherboards can't even support the dual core even though it's the same socket. It puts out 130TDP while most boards only support up to 115, so yeah, gotta buy a whole new LGA-775 board if you got it.

I hope AMD doesnt do something like that with their dual cores
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.