Intel Motherboard Password - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2005, 03:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 40
Default Intel Motherboard Password

I have an intel (bayfield) motherboard, I recently flash the bios, after flashing the bios i get enter password. I didn't have a password before and the don't know why its asking for one now, I have tried everything from removing the battery to abandoning the board for a week and taking the battery out but still asking for password.

Can anyone tell a solution please?
__________________

Black-axe is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 04:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

why did you flash the BIOS in the first place?
if your old BIOS worked, flash the bios back to what it was
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 04:28 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 40
Default

You don't understand, the computer doesn't even get to post, the first i see is enter password. The reason I flashed the bios was to make the motherboard prescott ready, 'cos I wanted to upgrade from a 3.0ghz 512 800fsb to 3.2ghz 1m 800fsb
Black-axe is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 04:29 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,291
Default

Flash it again?
__________________
Simon is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 04:33 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

ring intel and ask if they have a factory setting password on that board
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 07:38 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Exactly what you have to do, their's no reason their sho uld be a password on it
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 01:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 40
Default

Thanks guys, I called intel and they helped out, everything is ok now.

I really do appreciate the quick response from you guys.

Once again thanks
Black-axe is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 03:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

what was the resolution?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 04:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SHAWN
what was the resolution?
I know this thread is dead now, but I just gotta ask where yer going with this question, SHAWN...?
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 05-05-2005, 04:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

resolution - An explanation, as of a problem or puzzle; a solution

he said the problem was fixed. I was asking how he fixed it.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.