intel hyper threading: is it that good? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-11-2004, 03:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 226
Arrow intel hyper threading: is it that good?

I have a P4 processor with HT...

I have done alot of research,

http://www.intel.com/technology/hyperthread/
http://www.intel.com/techtrends/tech...rthreading.htm

and I understand the concepts, but I am still left with a few questions:

* Is there even that big of a difference in the first place?

* Are the effects going to be immediatly seen or not until more and more software and hardware support multi threading?

* Is the difference in performance only seen in large tasks (like Far Cry, Doom 3, sound editting, video editting, etc) or is it seen with small tasks as well (internet and email use)?

* Is it big enough news that AMD will follow suit (maybe they have already)?

* are the two "virtual" processors running at 3.0 GHz (+/- .4 depending on the type of P4 processor) or are they each half of the speed of the overall processor?

* Intel states that this increases the amount of processes that can be done at once. Wouldn't you need to build up your RAM first?


I know that there are alot of questions, and I'm not expecting some one to answer all of them (if you did though, that would be amazing ).

Please, do not post any speculation, only facts... Thanks
__________________

KornNut is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 04:03 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 27
Send a message via AIM to 72montecarlo Send a message via Yahoo to 72montecarlo
Default

Basicly the meat and potatoes of it is your chip is going to run like a normal 3ghz p4 until you have two seperate programs running at once, then hyperthreading will allow you to run both at the same time and take up half the amount of time it normally would to complete both.
__________________

72montecarlo is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 07:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

hyperthreading is for multitasking

hypertransport (amd) can be used with one program
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-11-2004, 08:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

hyperthreading helps both with using multiple programs at once or when using a program written in a way to properly use the hyperthreading. according to lab tests hyperthreading is very useful with programs that really utilize it very good performance increases, but of course how much of this would you actually notice is hard to say.
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.