Intel feeling the heat from AMD - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2006, 05:27 PM   #21 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

I think maybe he just likes AMD
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 05:41 PM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "I h8 1nt3l..."

All i have to say is:

[color=sea-green]PowerPC[/color] > iNTEL

Long live PPC
__________________

__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 06:32 PM   #23 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uzi9mm
well do you have any substance or reason behind your awkward opinion?

Yes as a matter of fact I do...

I use both systems on the regular... 1 at work (Intel) and 1 at home (AMD)


Both are almost identicle except for video card.


At work (on the INTEL machine) when the machine has too many requests to process it pauses...

Now when I say too many requests, I mean like 20 apps open at the same time and about 10 different webpages open at once...

Yes, it's a huge mess, but that is what I need open at a given time.

My AMD machine can handle it without ANY problems WHILE remoted in...

My intel machine on the other hand pauses on a regular basis b/c of all the stuff happening at once...

There is nothing wrong with my intel machine... None of the machines here can handle my workload.

So that fact alone makes me love my AMD machine...
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 06:42 PM   #24 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by brady
Yes as a matter of fact I do...

I use both systems on the regular... 1 at work (Intel) and 1 at home (AMD)


Both are almost identicle except for video card.


At work (on the INTEL machine) when the machine has too many requests to process it pauses...

Now when I say too many requests, I mean like 20 apps open at the same time and about 10 different webpages open at once...

Yes, it's a huge mess, but that is what I need open at a given time.

My AMD machine can handle it without ANY problems WHILE remoted in...

My intel machine on the other hand pauses on a regular basis b/c of all the stuff happening at once...

There is nothing wrong with my intel machine... None of the machines here can handle my workload.

So that fact alone makes me love my AMD machine...
have you used a conroe yet?
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 06:49 PM   #25 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

nope... but won't spend the money to "try" it.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 06:58 PM   #26 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by brady
nope... but won't spend the money to "try" it.
alright, well i guess i have to agree with you that intel p4's sucked post athlon 64 era. since you probably are talking about a northwood or prescott.

but i mean, with the conroe, intel is at the top of its game. But i am sure AMD will rebound. They just dumped millions of dollars into a productions facility around here, so they are up to something.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 09-07-2006, 07:21 PM   #27 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

@brady - Yes... We all know how terrible Intel was before they came out with the Core Duo and Core 2 Duo. No one here thinks P4 > A64, we ALL know that A64 pwnz0r3z the P4.

But the fact of the matter is that C2D pwnz0r3z the A64. That's all there is too it. Nothing more, nothing less.
The General is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 05:29 AM   #28 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default

intel core 2 duo > AMD Athlon64 X2
intel core extreme > AMD Athlon FX


for lap tops
Pentium M > AMD Turion
Core duo > AMD Turion X2


So
Intel > AMD
maroon1 is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 11:40 AM   #29 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by maroon1
Pentium M > AMD Turion
Nope, Turion > Pentium M.

I use a Pentium M HP laptop regularly ... SLOWEST COMPUTER EVER. It takes 10 minutes to boot! And reinstalling Windows didn't make it any faster! Boot to Knoppix SAME THING, EXTREMELY SLOW. I ran SuperPI 1M and it got a WOPPING 1m 45s!!!!!!! WTF?!?!

Pentium M is slower than my Pentium II 233Mhz at work! SO SLOW!!
The General is offline  
Old 09-08-2006, 12:04 PM   #30 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

ok i think people need to chill and make sure things they say are backed up properly or people are just wasting posts.

General saying that doesn't prove a point unless you mention clock speed's/models. remembering of course that the Pentium M Banias started at something like 1.1ghz so it wouldn't be fair if you are comparing it to a top of the line Turion
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.