Intel EM64 or AMD 64?? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2005, 11:45 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,289
Send a message via AIM to timmer
Default

well right now i wouldnt buy anything since price drops are coming and the fact that intel is revising all there chips and soon coming out with 45nm technoligy i would personally wait a while to build a new pc
__________________

__________________
Intel p4 HT 3.0GHz
1 16x Toshiba dvd burner
2 sticks of corsair ddr2 533mhz 512mb
GeForce Fx 6600GT
Asus P5LD2
HD AUDIO
480W thermaltake
timmer is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 12:05 PM   #12 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

LOL, sorry, 45nm aint happening in the near future. You must be thinking of 65nm, and yes, both AMD and intel are working on that.
__________________

__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 12:34 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TheHeadFL
You're mostly correct there, other than I would say they don't perform like "crap", just not as well as in 32 bit mode.
Itanium's do peform like total crap in 32 bit mode, they dont emulate 32 bit well at all.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 03:37 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 530
Send a message via AIM to TheHeadFL
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Itanium's do peform like total crap in 32 bit mode, they dont emulate 32 bit well at all.
Well we aren't talking about Itaniums here, which is IA64. This is about EM64T, which is just a clone of x86-64....
__________________
Desktop machine: 2 x Opteron 246, Asus K8N-DL, 2GB PC3200 ECC Reg., XFX GeForce 6600GT, 74gb WD Raptor, 2 x 19\" LCDs, Windows XP x64
Server machine: Intel P4 3.0GHz 2MB EM64T, ECS i865pe, 1GB PC3200, 36gb WD Raptor, Windows Server 2003
Laptop: Dell Inspiron 9100 (Intel P4 3.2GHz 1MB Prescott, i865pe, 512MB PC3200, Mobility Radeon 9700, DVD+R/DL Burner), Windows XP
Linux: P3 450Mhz, 386MB ram, Slackware 10.1 (Running mySQL/Apache)
TheHeadFL is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 04:13 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Someone was talking about Itanium's
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 04:16 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
idiotec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,748
Default

Quote:
Someone was talking about Itanium's
In some place at some time, I'm sure somebody was.......

just not in this thread
__________________

BE HEARD - Techonvent
DS3 | E6400 - 3.2GHz 24/7 | 2GB OCZ PLat. PC6400 | 6800GT | Zippy 460W
What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left.
idiotec is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 05:53 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

whats with the itianiums, are they good?
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 05:56 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Itaniums are for servers/business use. Not for gaming. Either the Intel Pentium 4 with EM64 or AMD 64 will be a good choice. You can't go wrong with either, although the AMD has the edge in gaming. When it comes to video editing, the P4 has the edge. The difference between AMD and Intel isn't as big as people make it out to be. Its not like ATI vs. Nvidia where one brand plays as smooth as butter, and the other lags to no end.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 11:25 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
Default thanks ppl!

hey guys! thanks a lot for all the stuff you wrote.........i got just the info that i needed to know

i have decided on an AMD 64 now. whats the diff between venice core Athlon 64 and a San-deigo Athlon 64. what doesthis mean?

to someone who stated about the 32 bit intel processor...i would like to say that buying a 32-bit processor would prove to be foolish when 64 bit stuf's comin in the markets like hell.

well guys..one more favor...... i've decided to grab a comp that's gonna look similar 2 this..

AMD Athlon 64 3200+
<best possible m/b>
1 GB/ 512 MB DDR RAM
120 GB/ 80 GB SATA HDD
17" Flat Screen CRT Monitor
CD-DVD Burner
<power Supply>
Optical keyboard and mouse
nVidia GeForce 6600 256 MB (plz tell me of any better chip; both performance wise and price wise).....
......and add the rest of the crap urselves..

so plz tell me if i should go for a branded pc or get it assmbled..how much would it cost (Indian Rupees) in both cases?? if branded then which brand (I live in new delhi,india)? what changes should i make in the above config.? another thing is that i don't have tonnes of money to spend. i'm willing to pay a decent amount for the config.closest to this..so plz don't include insane suggestions. is there any news of price-drops lately?

plz add any other info i need to know.

waiting for replies......
coder_geek is offline  
Old 07-30-2005, 01:12 AM   #20 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to alsj411
Default

intel !
__________________

alsj411 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.