Intel or AMD on a buisness computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-14-2005, 07:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default Intel or AMD on a buisness computer

Intel or AMD on a buisness computer with 750+ of MP3's
__________________

GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 08:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Purpose of this business? I also need a CPU budget.
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 08:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Well it's for my dad's construction and he sucks at backing his stuff up and it has so much spyware it's unbelievable. He now is in love with Limewire after I showed him that I was thing about 400 dollars for everything besides Keyboard monitor Burner floppy mouse. no videocard
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 08:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 778
Default

Intel. 400 u need an hd/mobo/ram/PSU/cpu. u shud be able to get the cpu/an intel one for 150. 350 u can get everything else but it wont be so great.
__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6400 @ 2.13GHz
Asus P5B-Deluxe WiFi Motherboard
OCZ PLATINUM REV2 2GB (1GB*2) DDR2-800Mhz RAM
Seagate 320GB 7200.10 SATA2 HDD
eVGA 7600GT 256MB PCI-E Video Card
LITE-ON DVDRW w/ LightScribe
Lite-ON DVD-ROM Drive
Cooler Master Centurion 5 Case
FSP Group Fortron Blue Storm 500W PSU
Logitech MX 3000 Cordless Desktop
Logitech X-530 5.1 Speaker System
Acer AL2223W
Windows Vista Ultimate
Ankush09 is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 08:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Yes, but what tasks will he be performing on this machine?

I'm leaning towards a Celeron or a Sempron, maybe an older Pentium 4 or Athlon XP.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 08:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

tasks as in programs it'll be quickbooks,limewire,nero,internet nothing much
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 08:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 284
Default

p4 2.4a and overclock the SH** out of it, yeah we really need to know your budget.
comrad is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 08:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

To properly address this thread, you'll need to provide me with a little more information. Like what need does this business have for a PC?
Accounting and Book keeping? Inventory? POS system? Internet? Email? Multimedia Video Displays? PVR capability? Just a few needs...

Then a budget. Duh... lol j/k

If there is one thing that I always recommend to people are going to buy or have me build them a new PC for a business. I suggest you invest a good portion of your budget into protecting your data.
If your aren't using a server to store your data and you're going to be storing all of your data on your PC's HDD's I would highly recommend that you consider setting up a RAID 5 configuration.

I'd recommend Seagate 200gig SATA 7200rpm with NCQ

RAID 5 stripes data & parity information across 3 or more drives.
This is a very safe way to ensure that you secure your data from HDD failure. It's not the fastest configuration, but it's very safe. IF one hard drive fails, just swap it out with a new HDD.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 08:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Get a 1.8GHz Duron, a semi-reputable socket A motherboard, and some 512MB DDR266 Value RAM. Add in a 60GB Hard drive and you've spent no more than $300.
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-14-2005, 08:21 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

accounting, internet, email
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.