INTEL<>AMD big charts - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2006, 03:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default INTEL<>AMD big charts

i was looking for an ansver to the biggest question which one is better
INTEL or AMD
and i think i found an answer for everybody(toms found it actually)
but to break it down:
they compared 77 processors
and for amd fans its obvious that top models of amd are always on top of the chart but that doesnt mean all amd processors are faster than intel or opposite.
most of people would buy processors somwhere in the middle of charts

http://www.tomshardware.com/2005/11/...u_charts_2005/

so theres plenty to choose from
pick ur processor and compare it to neighbor processors and check the price in newegg or somethin so u can get best bang for the buck

also i hope this thread is not gonna turn into another war of intel fans and amd fans
because its pointless
im using intel and continue to use intel because im more familiar with it but im keepin my eye on amd since im convinced that it performs better in games but im not a big gamer i need faster mp3 encoding and thats where intel is beter as of now
according to this page
http://www.digit-life.com/
also lots of really usefull info on that page
__________________

raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 03:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

wouldnt let me delete
the other post got the link to toms hardware
__________________

__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 03:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "Intel i38666..."

I wan't to see the link of what "THEY" reviewed and who exactly "THeY" are. :cyclops:

I like AMD better. Not just because everyone else does, but since they seem to be a much more reliable company than intel. When intel made a socket 7 CPU, it only went as fast as 233mhz, and by the time they made the Pentium 2, they went with a whole different kind of socket. When AMD made the K6-2, they stuck with socket 7, and it still had clock speeds of up to 400mhz, and by the time they made the K6-3, It's max was 600mhz.
So when intel simply abandoned all those poor people who spent a couple of grand on a socket 7 PC thinking they were getting something good, AMD stuck with it.
Intel was never a trustworthy company to begin with, Which is why i hate the fact thet they make Mac CPU's now. So reguardless if one CPU is faster than the other, knowone likes a company that likes to abandon their own customers.
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 04:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

updated with links now
so as i said its not a battel of intel vs amd post and u already posting how amd is better than intel
let people decie on they own which processor they want from those charts
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 05:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

there is already a post like this.
Its the very first post on this section

http://techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=34691
talldude123 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 09:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

well i wasnt askin any aquestions in this one i just gave a link to those charts so u people can use them when buying a cpu in ur price range
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 10:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 169
Default

The first link was dead, is this the link you are talking about? http://www23.tomshardware.com/cpu.html
__________________
Intel PD 820; 3.36GHz, 31C idle 43C under load
Thermalright Ultra 120 CPU Cooler
3 120mm Delta case fans each @ 146 CFM
ASUS StrikerExtreme, WD Raptor 150Gb
4Gb Crucial Ballistix PC-6400 (5-6-6-21) @ 960MHz
LIAN LI PC-V2100APlus II, Sony & BTC DVD Burners
evga e-GeForce 8800GTX Superclocked 768MB
Antec TruePower Quattro 850W Modular Power Supply
icemakr is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 11:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

ye pretty much same charts but they go in alot more detail like cpu history and all that stuff
i updated the link so it works now
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 11:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 868
Send a message via AIM to raverx3m
Default

but the thing i ve notticed is on P4 630 (3ghz/200mhz) they use ddr2 533mhz(133mhz) instead of usind 200mhz ram
__________________
I HATE FIREFOX!!!!!!!I don't care if its what you use!!! I use IE and will continue using it...
(64 bit win7)(6gb dual chnl ram)( Gigabyte EP43-UD3L)(Q8400-2.67ghz Core2 Quad)
(120gb SSD 840 PRO)(4 tb WD storage)(GeForce GTX 650Ti (GV-N65TOC-2Gi)
raverx3m is offline  
Old 02-12-2006, 11:22 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

They're trying to make up from poor memory bandwidth with high clock speeds. Just because the ram is faster doesn't mean you can move more information in a given time.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.