intel or AMD - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-06-2004, 10:07 AM   #21 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

is ocing realy nessacry? doesn't bring down the life expectancy of the chip? if i over clock what is everything that i'm going to need and how much will it cost? also help me out with what i have left
__________________

compy is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 10:22 AM   #22 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

I personally am not a fan of overclocking.

I stick with cooling that is quiet but effective, overclocking can cause major stability problems if you don't get it right.

I would go for the Athlon XP 3200+ 400 fsb, also I would buy Corsair 2x 256MB TwinX DDR400 (dual channel if possible).
__________________

__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 10:28 AM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by compy
is ocing realy nessacry? doesn't bring down the life expectancy of the chip? if i over clock what is everything that i'm going to need and how much will it cost? also help me out with what i have left
Overclocking is optional, however. The 2500+ is enough to play pretty much any games without overclocking it. Getting a 3200+ is a waste (as i made that mistake too). You can use the extra money and save that up for a Athlon-64 socket 939 when prices drop.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 12:08 PM   #24 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 195
Default

"Yeah, but the 2500+ is 50% cheaper and can easily be overclocked to a 3200+ with no problems, remember?"

Amd's are never "easily" overclocked, especially for someone thats new to oc'ing, has stock fans and that might or might not have the incentive to do so or not..

The 2500+ is still a good cpu, but the 80+ mhz fsb and +400mhz clockspeed will make this cpu last alot longer, and the good thing is, no matter how much you oc your 2500+, you will always be able to OC the 3200+ higher (obviously)

I would definitly reocmmend the 3200+

just make sure to buy something other then the stock heatsink/fan
__________________
_Abit IS7-E
_P4 Northwood 2.8C Ghz HT
_Kingston 512 DDR400 Ram [2x 256]
_Radeon 9600XT
_SoundBlaster Audigy
_Awesome looking white plain case with cool green and red power/HD lights, and a newely acquired Intel P4 sticker!
xxdryicexx is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 12:30 PM   #25 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 439
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xxdryicexx
"Yeah, but the 2500+ is 50% cheaper and can easily be overclocked to a 3200+ with no problems, remember?"

Amd's are never "easily" overclocked, especially for someone thats new to oc'ing, has stock fans and that might or might not have the incentive to do so or not..

The 2500+ is still a good cpu, but the 80+ mhz fsb and +400mhz clockspeed will make this cpu last alot longer, and the good thing is, no matter how much you oc your 2500+, you will always be able to OC the 3200+ higher (obviously)

I would definitly reocmmend the 3200+

just make sure to buy something other then the stock heatsink/fan
He could go for the 3200+, however. Like i said, he could go with the 2500+ which can play pretty much anything with optimal performance and save some money to buy a Athlon-64 s939 when prices drop in the future. It's his choice to choose whatever he feels comfortable with, since me and you can't decide the same thing for him. Remember, 64-bit is the future.
WQ87 is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 12:41 PM   #26 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 195
Default

that it is..

thing is thogh, 64 bit applications wont start coming out till atleast another 1 1/2 years..
__________________
_Abit IS7-E
_P4 Northwood 2.8C Ghz HT
_Kingston 512 DDR400 Ram [2x 256]
_Radeon 9600XT
_SoundBlaster Audigy
_Awesome looking white plain case with cool green and red power/HD lights, and a newely acquired Intel P4 sticker!
xxdryicexx is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 01:07 PM   #27 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

Go for 2800+ Barton as it is 400MHZ FSB.
U don't have to worry about overclocking.
__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 04:11 PM   #28 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

yeah i think that's what i want to do, the 2800+ seems the best for a mid level gaming comp. also it has the 400 fsb wich is better. what P4 is the 2800+ the same as? what kind of mobo should i get with the 2800+? oh yeah, what's with all of the socket numbers for in AMD cpu's? why doesn't intel have them? what differnce does it make between the diff socets?


the AMD2800 doesn't come with 400 fsb...
compy is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 06:07 PM   #29 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by compy
yeah i think that's what i want to do, the 2800+ seems the best for a mid level gaming comp. also it has the 400 fsb wich is better. what P4 is the 2800+ the same as? what kind of mobo should i get with the 2800+? oh yeah, what's with all of the socket numbers for in AMD cpu's? why doesn't intel have them? what differnce does it make between the diff socets?


the AMD2800 doesn't come with 400 fsb...
A 2800+ and 9800 Pro, would make a great gaming PC OCing isn't neccsary and can really screw things up if you don't know what your doin I know how to do it, but don't

As for RAM, I'd keep it simple and go for either 2x 256mb of either DDR333 or DDR400, either will do

Dunno, about a mobo though, because its been awhile since I have had a Athlon XP
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 07-06-2004, 06:47 PM   #30 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

hey thanks for the help man, keep it coming guys! i need more input!!!! thanks for putin up with my questions, you guys are realy helping me out!
__________________

compy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.