Intel 64-bit - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2003, 11:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 161
Default Intel 64-bit

Hey guys, just wondering how many of you have an Intel 64-bit processor that you personally own (besides servers).

Aren't they a bit picky at which software they runm like they will only run 64 bit software?

Cherubimon_3.20 is offline  
Old 10-17-2003, 12:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

no actually i think they will accept 32 bit operating systems and 32 bit applications, but that won't take advantage of their architecture. i think the winxp 64bit version allows you to run 32 bit applications on it also.

those 32 bit apps will probably run a hell of a lot faster though. i'm taking guesses on some of this, we should wait for someone to confirm.

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 10-17-2003, 02:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman

Isn't the Intel 64bit like 10 grand? Did they release they're client side 64bit processor yet? I thought AMD beat them to the punch.

But to answer your questoins, 64 bit cpu's are good ONLY if:

You have a 64bit OS (XP will have one beg of next year)
you have aps that support 64 bit. Photoshop is the only widly used one that I know of.
You need a butt-load of memory to really take advantage of it. You can have a 64bit cpu bit it goes to waste if you have 512 meg of memory bottlenecking your system.

I like the idea, but I'll wait till it's more widely accepted. Prices should fall then and more aps will use it.
Lostman is offline  
Old 10-18-2003, 07:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 818

Only Intel 64 bit is the ItaniumII, which is only sever based. The ItaniumII cant run 32 bit apps at full proc speed because it requires a 32 bit emulator to make the 32 bit code into 64 bit code for processing.

AMD did beat them to the punch with the Athlon 64, but Apple was first with its G5 PowerPC970 chip from IBM.
g5orbust is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.