Insufficiant 3d hardware? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-20-2007, 03:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Default Insufficiant 3d hardware?

So, here's my problem:
About a month ago, we got our computer back from the repair place(not sure where my dad sent it). We lost everything, because the Hard Drive was corrupted(or something like that), so I had to re-install all my games.

SimCity 4 works, even though before I start my game, a message pops up saying "cannot initialize direct draw." So I hit OK and everything's fine. But, when I tried any one of my games, it says I have Insufficiant 3d hardware(or a variation of that). I figured that it ment that I didn't have DirectX 9 installed, but when I checked, I did have it.

I just installed Star Wars: Empire at War, and it says I have to "Install DirectX SDK to get the full reference device."

So, I don't know what to do.
__________________

ODST27 is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 05:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Insufficiant 3d hardware?

got to start>run>type dxdiag an look and make shure that you have dx9 installed if u dont then go to the microsoft website and download it '
also make shure that you have the latest drivers for your videocard
__________________

philbar71 is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 05:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Insufficiant 3d hardware?

also if you have integrated graphics then you need to get a videocard
philbar71 is offline  
Old 06-20-2007, 08:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Insufficiant 3d hardware?

You'd probably want to reinstall dx9 anyways just from that "can't initialize direct draw" error. I agree that you should have the latest drivers installed--I'm thinking you might be using XP's built in drivers and those are no good. What card are you using?
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 02:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 422
Send a message via AIM to Kubel
Default Re: Insufficiant 3d hardware?

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
also if you have integrated graphics then you need to get a videocard
That's unnecessary. Integrated and dedicated graphics perform the same function. If integrated graphics meet the minimum requirements for a game, they should run the game without errors.

The things you want to check:

1) Drivers- download the latest drivers for your card and install them;

2) 3D Acceleration - (Start > Control Panel > Display > Settings > Advanced). Make sure Hardware Acceleration is set to "Full" - all the way to the right - and then click OK;

3) DirectX - does it need reinstalling (download directx and try reinstalling it)
__________________
For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Christ: for it is the power of God unto salvation to every one that believeth
~Romans 1:16
Kubel is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 05:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Insufficiant 3d hardware?

allmost all integrated graphics cant run most moddern games
so if he does have integrated graphics then he should get a seprate video card(AGP,PCI-EXPRESS)
philbar71 is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 07:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Insufficiant 3d hardware?

Well, that's odd. When I run dxdiag, and click the display tab. It doesn't show what my graphics card is(even though I'm 99% sure what it is - X600). It does say that I'm using the generic video driver. How do I install the latest driver?

Well, I'm just wondering if it got fried or something when my computer went wierd...

...Yea, time to get a new video card!
ODST27 is offline  
Old 06-21-2007, 10:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Insufficiant 3d hardware?

Drivers & Software
Punch in your OS and graphics card and download the drivers. THen when they're done just installem--very easy.

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
allmost all integrated graphics cant run most moddern games
so if he does have integrated graphics then he should get a seprate video card(AGP,PCI-EXPRESS)
That's not entirely true and is beside the point, anyway.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 04:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 12
Default Re: Insufficiant 3d hardware?

YES!! Thanks everyone. W00t! Now I can play my games
ODST27 is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 05:02 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: Insufficiant 3d hardware?

Congrats!
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USB Key Hardware Firewall Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 05-29-2007 06:59 PM
my computer hardware problem has been found...... Wildside Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-12-2007 04:33 PM
Testing your hardware NathanLedet New Systems | Building and Buying 1 05-03-2007 09:06 AM
Upgrading Mac hardware... BoysNightOut Apple and Mac 8 04-30-2007 09:32 PM
Program to scan for hardware errors? mobkon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-20-2007 04:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.