Installing Windows XP on a new computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2004, 01:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default Installing Windows XP on a new computer

Hi
I have built myself a new computer
Giga-byte 81875 ULTRA MOBO
P4 2.8
WD 160 gigs hard-drive
...

now i am trying to install windows xp on it,
i put the windows xp cd in the cd rom, it goes through the boot sequence and comes up with the following message

please wait for IDE scan
Verifying DMI Pool Data
Boot from CD:
DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER
Please help me
Regards
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 07:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

my CD is not a bootable version of windows xp and i do not have the boot disks around.
windows xp is the only installation of windows i have at the moment, what should i do?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 09:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 17
Default

You can download the Windows XP setup floppies from MS. There are 6 of them so hopefully you have 6 floppies laying around somewhere..

XP Home Setup Diskettes:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/r...eleaseID=33290

XP Pro Setup Diskettes:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/r...eleaseID=33291
PartieHonteuse is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 11:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

all winXP versions are bootable unless some idiot didn't know how to patch winxp to the corporate version right. it sounds to me like you connecting your hard disk in-correctly.

set your hard disk jumper to cable select and make sure you plug the 4pin power cable into it and the IDE cable. it's probably something you overlooked
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 11:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Ek... it's probably a pirated copy ..that's y it doesn't boot ... Otherwise ..as u said ..all copies of winXp are bootable ..

Another way to install Xp ..instead of using the 6 floppy bootdisk ..would be to boot with a Win98 bootdisk with Cdrom support.. then go to the Winxp CD ..find the I386 Directory
Type WinNT
Setup will proceed...
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 04:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default

just boot your computer using the windows 98 boot disk

(with cd rom support)

then change the drive to D (or e which ever your cd drvie is)

and then type

setup.exe
Trax is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 04:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trax
just boot your computer using the windows 98 boot disk

(with cd rom support)

then change the drive to D (or e which ever your cd drvie is)

and then type

setup.exe
That is one of the few reasons I still hold on to my old Win98 boot disks.
rasputinj is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 05:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to Trax
Default

ya ^ same with me
Trax is offline  
Old 03-05-2004, 07:44 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 17
Default

I had the same problem when I blew my 4th Maxtor harddrive. (I'm a diehard WD/Seagate guy now. ) Though I say use the discs since they are the easiest way to go.
SupraGuru is offline  
Old 03-07-2004, 08:26 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

Hi,
i tried the windows 98 floppy disk solution,
it botos but it does not see my cd rom.
the 6 disk solution from microsoft worked like a charm.

I installed most of the stuff, however the ethernet port does not go, it says there is no driver installed.
I installed all the drivers on the cd rom from gigaybte. (The MOBO is a Gigabyte 81875 ULTRA), but no driver for the onboard lan card.

i went to the gigabyte site, and downloaded and installed one of the driver which i thought was right( driver for xp with no AP). that did not work either.
can you tell me where to find the driver for the LAN port.
Thanks
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.