Installing Window in Western Digital HDD problem! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2005, 02:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 26
Default Installing Window in Western Digital HDD problem!

Sorry that I usually only come here when I need help.

I reformat the western digital hdd. Now I am trying to install Window XP. I can not install it. It is not like Maxtor where I use some dos files to take me to where I can reformat the hdd at the same time then allow me to restart with easy Window XP installation after that.

Basically, can some one give me instruction on how to install Window XP in a primary Western Digital HDD?
__________________

yexusbeliever is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 02:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

how did you format the drive? Does the xp installer start? You can make xp setup delete and re-create partitions and then format them to ntfs, that is what I would do personally.
__________________

__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 02:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 635
Default

1) Stick the cd in

2) Check bios to make sure its booting off the cd drive before the hard drive

3) Let the setup load

4) use the option within windows xp setup to format the drive

5) enjoy windows
__________________
AMD 64 x2 3800 Venice @ 2.0
Zalman 7700 @ 28c
Gigabyte K8NXP-SLI
2 x Samsung 1gb DDR400 CL2.5
2 x eVga 6800 256mb GT
430mhz Core / 1.1ghz Memory
M-Audio Firewire-410
Sandra Memory Bench:
Sandra Cpu Arithmetic:

Eat your heart out intel.
senseless is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 03:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 26
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by daappleby
how did you format the drive? Does the xp installer start? You can make xp setup delete and re-create partitions and then format them to ntfs, that is what I would do personally.
I did that, but somehow the xp setup did not delete everything else in the harddrive. It refuse to delete the whole partition since there were some files in there that needed for Window setup. Therefore I go to the Western Digital site to download a dos program that will configure the HDD. So it is use in a bootup disk. And the program it opens allow me to fully reformat the HDD.

Now After that I encounter the problem in which even I just putting in the Window CD will not work. Because you will probably know that usually whenever you install a Window OS, you will first install some hidden files then you have to restart to begin the true installation.

This problem is getting annoying. It is a few days now. I can not figure out how to begin to install this. All I need is for the HDD to recognize the CD and take me to the installation.
yexusbeliever is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 03:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

ok what you will need to do is actually delete all the partitions, then recreate them, if that doesn't work then you may have to call manufactuere and get their ideas on it.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 03:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 26
Default

I already deleted the partitions. That is where i encounter the problem afterwards. I use a dos program from WD site called Western Digital Data LifeGuard (something like that) to delete the partitions. Then after that I put in the Window CD and it does not work. There will only be a black screen with a setence saying that it does not find any OS.

Note: I already config the Bios to bootup CDrom first.

OH yea... I rather not call the manufacturer. I check their site and to receive support for just a little support will cost me $15.
yexusbeliever is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 03:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

you got me then, sorry.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-10-2005, 05:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 227
Default

Are you using an XP Upgrade disk?

You need an operable Windows version for the upgrade disk.

Otherwise, what senseless said is as simple as it gets for a
full install of XP.

All the info for installing XP can be found here:::::
http://www.theeldergeek.com/index.htm
ImUseless is offline  
Old 06-12-2005, 02:01 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 17
Send a message via AIM to ctracer Send a message via Yahoo to ctracer
Default

you said primary hard drive for westerndigital, this is just an idea but if you have two harddrives you need to up plug one and you have to have the CD drive as a slave to the hard drive before it will even try the final half of the set up. Good luck I had this problem
ctracer is offline  
Old 06-12-2005, 02:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

What your experincing is very weird. This seems in no way a problem of western digital.

75-80% of my PC's use WD hard drives. I have never experinced what your having and I have also installed windows on alot of other WD hard drives
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.