Installing a power supply - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2005, 10:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 21
Default Installing a power supply

What do i have to connected and what are some precautions i should know, or imporant information.
__________________

MuRdA is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 10:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

nothing much just pop the old one out and pop the new one in no precautions it is pretty much idiot proof.
__________________

__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 10:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

unscrew the old one. screw the new one end. Plug the 20/24pin (depends on mobo and PSU) into the mobo, along with the 4 pin box connector. plug a 4 pin connector(s) into the optical drives and the hard drives. Plug the floppy drive connector into the floppy drive. Plug the video card connector (if applicable) into a 4 pin connector. plug ur case fans into 4 pin connectors. simple.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 07-09-2005, 11:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 21
Default

thank you guys
MuRdA is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 01:59 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 84
Default

remember to ground yourself to the case
__________________
MCSE Certified (passed on second try lol). But am only 15.
TechKid is offline  
Old 07-10-2005, 02:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GrimReaper23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Fort Gordon
Posts: 1,912
Send a message via Yahoo to GrimReaper23
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TechKid
remember to ground yourself to the case
in terms just touch your case before working not on a carpet or with socks but it is a psu so I don't think that it matters.
__________________
GrimReaper23 is offline  
Old 08-22-2005, 12:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 83
Default

Im installing a new psu as well. When trying to uninstall the old one, the drive connectors just arent budging. Is there something im supposed to unhook then take out the connectors, or on each one, i jsut have to pull, really really hard? I have a dell 4550
__________________

__________________
Pentium 4 3.0 ghz
nvidia 7900gt 265mb video card
200gig HD
2 gigs of ddr (3200) ram
heifsin85 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.