Installing a New Video Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-29-2004, 01:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default Installing a New Video Card

I'm installing a new video card, and I was curious as to what I need to do to remove the old one. Do I just take it out of the computer, put in the new one and install the new drivers? Am I missing anything?
__________________

PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 01:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 65
Default

as easy as that.
I think you have to uninstall the old drivers first before installing the new cards ddrivers
__________________

jjjdup is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 01:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

Yeah.
But uninstall your older card drivers first.
__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 01:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 900
Default

Good deal. Thanks for the help.
__________________
Jesus said to him, "I am the way, the truth, and the life; no one comes to the Father but through me". -John 14:6
PizzatheHut06 is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 01:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

make sure you are grounded...touch the power supply before and as you touch the card. also you might want to turn down the resolution if you have cranked up high just incase there is a conflict in drivers...don't have to
__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 01:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

dont touch the PSU, touch the metal on the case and if there isnt any the screw driver should do.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 03:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

and dont forget to unplug the pc from the wall outlet befor doing anything with the hardware.

EDIT: the PSU is part of the metal on the case, so it doesnt matter.
jolancer is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 03:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 485
Send a message via ICQ to Hinrichisgod Send a message via AIM to Hinrichisgod
Default

might even want to look into gettin a anti static wrist thing - thats what I use when I'm workin inside and I've yet to run into problems with shocking.
__________________
My System Specs:
Raidmax Scorpio 868 with 420w psu
Intel Pentium-4 Processor 3.0ghz CPU
512K Cache, 800MHz FSB, Hyper Threading Ready
Cooler Master Jet 4
Albatron PX865PE PRO II i865PE Chipset
512 MB Dual Channel [256MB X2] DDR-400 PC3200
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro @ 438/243
Sound Blaster Live! 24 bit advanced HD
Maxtor 120 GB - 7200 RPM
Seagate 80 GB - 7200 RPM
16x DVD 52X32X52 cd-rw
Cooler Master Musketeer System Controller
Logitech MX Duo
Rock Chalk Jayhawk
Hinrichisgod is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 04:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dumdum8684
make sure you are grounded...touch the power supply before and as you touch the card.
NEVER touch the psu in such a manner. Especially if you have carpet or very dry air in your home. If you are not using a grounded wrist strap, you should instead touch a metal part of the case - AWAY from the PSU.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 07-29-2004, 04:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349
Default

Quote:
you should instead touch a metal part of the case - AWAY from the PSU.
^why u say that lonewolf?
__________________

jolancer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.