Installing new Soundcard - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2005, 11:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default Installing new Soundcard

Alrighty, I'm getting a new soundcard. What I need is some general pointers or tips on how to install it. I know, put it in the PCI slot, but any bios configuration? Any additional connectors? Any help appreciated.
__________________

woot7800GT is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 11:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Mr. Switch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,841
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Switch
Default

you want to disable your onboard sound before you install this add in card

other than that, just plug it in and install drivers and shiznit
__________________

Mr. Switch is offline  
Old 04-12-2005, 11:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

A friend said to make sure I plug in the audio cord from the DVD drive, but there are no audio cords coming from either of my drives, just IDE and power, is the audio transferred through the IDE? Should I worry about any audio connectors, or just put in the slot and go?
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 04:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 441
Default

You need an audio cable if you wish to play audio CDs on the computer. I'm not sure whether they are required for DVDs or not as I don't both watching dvds on my system.

If you look at the rear of the optical drive, just to the left of the IDE connector, you will see another small 4 pin connector (some drives have 2 different connectors for compatibility with older style cables)

There will also be 3/4 matching connection points on the sound card (or on mobo if sound is integrated), marked aux, CD etc.

There cable your friend mentioned goes between the CD drive & sound card (connect to the socket marked 'CD' on s/c)
Samm is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 04:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
ApM
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 501
Send a message via AIM to ApM Send a message via Yahoo to ApM
Default

Disable Onboard sound from BIOS although sometimes this isn't nessasary but to be safe, disable it.

Plug the soundcard into the slot, bootup and install the drivers.

Test soundcard - good? works. np's.
ApM is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 04:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

I play CDs on my system fine and I don't have the audio cable plugged in. Just disable your onboard in BIOS and that should be enough.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 04-13-2005, 05:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Cable is only if u want to plug your headphones/speakers in the CD-ROM device. I don't use the cable and audio CD's play fine in Winamp/WMP.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.