Installing NEW CPU - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2004, 12:35 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Blind_Arrow don't scare the guy out of attempting a CPU install. They really aren't as hard as he makes it sound like it is. The CPU Sockets now-a-days use whats called 'ZIF' technology which stands for 'zero insertion force' You take off the heatsink and simply lift the lever next to the socket. This releases the CPU and you can pull it out. Put in your new CPU and it should drop right in. Then simply pull the lever back down.

Stock heatsinks have thermal pads on it, but if you had an aftermarket heatsink then you can use some good thermal paste instead. If you were trying it for the first time though I'd say just put on the stock heatsink to get used to it.

Unless you really bear down on those CPU Dies they aren't really that easy to break. I stabbed at an old processor multiple times with a screwdriver and couldn't get the stupid thing to crack when I was trying. As long as you set the heatsink STRAIGHT down onto the processor then lock everything down you're good to go.

The biggest part of changing out the processor is simply getting over the fear like you're holding the cure to aids in a very breakable glass tube while balancing ontop of a 100ft tall pole or something.

Quote:
specially as if u r on AMD Athlon XP or earlier
Why do you need special skills for XP's or earlier? I like these more than I do the AMD64 heatsinks that require you to remove a backplate in order to change the heatsink, but it is easier to get the heatsink off since all you have to do is unscrew the screws in order to loosen it in the event of CPU replacement.

But the XP's and whatnot simply need a steady hand and good eye to not stab your motherboard which is what generally happens to people who don't know what they are doing.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 01:12 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 146
Default

well prices ive got...

Intel Socket 478:

INTEL P4 3.0ghz 800FSB for $299AU
INTEL P4 3.2ghz 800FSB for $379AU

or

P4 3.0ghz / 800 FSB 1meg cache PRESCOTT CORE for $285AU
P4 3.2ghz / 800 FSB 1meg cache PRESCOTT CORE for $319AU

so help me out here? is it worth the increase in cost? and whats the difference between 1mb cache PRESSCOTT CORE ones and other ones?

thanks guys.
__________________

__________________
<center><font color=red>Intel P4 1.5Ghz<font color=blue> AMD Venice 3200+ $268<br><font color=red>256Mb DDR 333 + Kingston 512 DDR 400<font color=blue> Kingston 512 DDR 400 $82.50<br><font color=red>Intel Soltek 478 Mainboard SL-86SPE2<font color=blue> DFI LANParty UT nf4 UltraD $214.99 <font color=red><br>NVIDIA GeForce FX 5900XT<font color=blue> eVGA 6600GT PCI-E $309.95 <br><font color=red>Samsung CDR/RW 32x 10x 40x<font color=blue> Samsung TS-H552 $60<br><font color=red>LG CRT 60N 13.8\"<font color=blue> 17\" BENQ LCD $325<br><font color=black><u>Any Suggestions? Please PM Me!
DevilsChild is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 01:34 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 858
Default

prescott's are hott as hell, and not in the good sense, they take more voltage and heat up like..... n/m, sufficient to say unless you have extremely good cooling DON'T try to OC one of these
GageMW is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 11:20 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 146
Default

well i dont mind i guess spending that little more for performance.
how big of a jump am i making from p4 1.5 to p4 3.0?

thanks.
__________________
<center><font color=red>Intel P4 1.5Ghz<font color=blue> AMD Venice 3200+ $268<br><font color=red>256Mb DDR 333 + Kingston 512 DDR 400<font color=blue> Kingston 512 DDR 400 $82.50<br><font color=red>Intel Soltek 478 Mainboard SL-86SPE2<font color=blue> DFI LANParty UT nf4 UltraD $214.99 <font color=red><br>NVIDIA GeForce FX 5900XT<font color=blue> eVGA 6600GT PCI-E $309.95 <br><font color=red>Samsung CDR/RW 32x 10x 40x<font color=blue> Samsung TS-H552 $60<br><font color=red>LG CRT 60N 13.8\"<font color=blue> 17\" BENQ LCD $325<br><font color=black><u>Any Suggestions? Please PM Me!
DevilsChild is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 12:45 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 1,909
Default

Hot as HELL hahaha.

Hell is Black HOT. whicle prescott might touch BLUE region in hotness

Heay intensity is like that

starts fom BLUE > RED > WHITE > BLACK.

yes Prescotts ar vey hot, this is you can say a worst point of Intel's 90nm chip. as it is mor hot than its previous 130nm.

and in AMD< things ar reversed. 90nm is 20-24W cooler than 130nm. cool, isnt it
__________________

__________________
Intel Core2Quad 2.66Ghz 12MB L2-Cache
4096MB DDR Kingston Hyper-X
GigaByte GA-P35-DS3R
XFX 9600GT AlphaDog
Seagate 2 X 320GB SATA2
LG L246WH Flatron 24"
Sony DVD-RW
Blind_Arrow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.