Installing my radeon 8500le - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-25-2004, 09:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 13
Default Installing my radeon 8500le

This is my motherboard:

http://baber.com/baber/411/asus_p4s333vm.htm

I recently bought a ATI radeon 8500 LE (AGP 4x), and took apart the computer and put the video card in a slot next to 3 other white slots. It seemed to be the exact fit, and when I turned on the computer everything displayed smoothly. I tried using the CD that came with the card to install everything, but it says it cannot detect the hardware. But after some research I found out I had to disable my ONBOARD video card, but when I go to BIOS setup at boot up there is no option to do this. Also, I tried uninstalling via device manager, and my SiS 650 video card seemed to be gone.

I am utterly confused. Can someone help me out?
Much thanks
__________________

Cane is offline  
Old 05-26-2004, 02:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

you're saying you put in a Radeon 8500 video card, and your SiS 650 video card is not in device manager
is your monitor plugged into the Radeon 8500?
is your Radeon 8500 in the device manager?

if both of these are yes, does this mean you're trying to install the drivers that came with it?
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-26-2004, 04:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422
Default

Refresh the device manager, the SiS 650 should be detected, then disable it from there.
__________________
Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 05-26-2004, 07:21 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

Heres a link to the ASUS downloads for that board.Read through these.I believe there is a fix for your problem ASUS
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.