INSTALLING my new card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2005, 06:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default INSTALLING my new card

Yep, got myself an FX 6800 GT

Anyways, last time i bought a graphics card (FX5700) i could not install it myself. The problem was that getting the old card out was hard enough without touching any components so i was worried as hell about breaking my PC. Anyways, i finnaly pried the AGP card out of its slot after a LONG time. Their was a wierd little 'button' on the side of the slot that had to be pulled out before the card could be removed, anyhow, it was highly awkward. So, i took my PC over to my uncles (a techie dude) and he fitted the card and then installed the drivers (tho i can do this)

So, now i am worried that i'm gonna not be able to do it OR break my £230+ card ($400+) What i want to know is a good way of removing the old card and fitting the new one. Any VIDEO tutorials on fitting an AGP card? Or can you peeps give me a GOOD description on how to fit the card and take out the old.

I really need help with this one

- Cheers
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 06:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 371
Default

1) make sure you are grounded, remove the screw holding card in

2) slide the card lock to the right

3) gently rock the card left to right while pulling up

4) put in new card, push down firmly to properly seat, dont worry its not as fragile as you think.

5) slide lock left to secure card

6) put the screw back in, put you panel back on and fire it up
__________________

IAM_7154 is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 07:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

really, it's that simple, unless you have big hands like me, but i can still do it pretty easily. one card out, the other in, drivers, done.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 07:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Well the best advice I can give you is this....you simply gotta be more tough with it.

That was my problem when I first started I didn't want to touch anything, but really...they build these things pretty tough...Unless you're dropping it on concrete or something then you really don't have to worry. Components are sometimes made to make a SNAP! noise while sliding into places which can be scary.

The AGP's now-a-days always come with a little lock.

Just push the lock down and yank out the card...really nothing more to it.

Like they said though just ground yourself. Grab onto something metal to make sure you're grounded and go about removing the card.

Sometimes it can take more force than you'd think to put it in the slot but that's assuring good contact.

Basically you just gotta get over your fear of breaking something.

Don't be ridiculously stupid while handling it and make sure to always ground yourself and you should never have a problem.

Unlock the lock, yank out the card, stuff in the new one
Nubius is offline  
Old 01-03-2005, 07:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 40
Send a message via AIM to MST3kGeek
Default

you can always refer to your manual that came with the card too, especially if you want the step by step instructions right in front of you as youre doing it. but yeah, like everyone previous to this post said, the cards are more durable than youd think, but just dont be ridiculous with it.

it can be a daunting task when you dont know what everything in there does, but as long as you stick with what you know and what the instructions are telling you and dont start poking things in the case you should be good to go. its always fun doing something yourself and having it work, very rewarding you'll enjoy it when you get everything working.
__________________
\"Shhhh, he\'s talking about his area\"
MST3kGeek is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 02:15 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

You have to hold onto somehting metal all the time as you install the card?
__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 02:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

Drivers are the hardest, LOL
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 03:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

No just touch something metal before you remove/install the card, just to discharge the satic electricity built up in you that could fry the card. I was also in your position long ago, and after doing it once you'll see how easy it is.
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 06:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

the 1st thing to do is uninstall the old v card drivers then shut down and swap them out
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Old 01-04-2005, 02:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 512
Default

Hmmm, think i may just get my uncle to let me do it under his guidance. Need to take the PC up their anyhows, he needs to borrow it cause of the burner....
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 X2 4200+ @ 2.2ghz
2048mb Corsair PC3200 RAM (2x1gb)
WinFast NF4SK8AA Motherboard
660GB HDD Capacity (3xHDD)
600w Enermax PSU
eVga 8800 GTS 320mb
Diabetic is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.