Installing HD on old Compaq Armada - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-01-2004, 04:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
The Original Mac User
 
mac_mogul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: America
Posts: 1,515
Question Installing HD on old Compaq Armada

Where would be the best place to look to find a 20gb HD that will fit in the 1998 Compaq Armada laptop series? The current is a 4200 RPM 4.3 gb and it's worthless. Should I go directly to Compaq? Or should I find out what I need, and order it from NewEgg or etc... ? Any help would be appreciated
__________________

__________________

17" MacBook Pro
2.3ghz Intel i7 // 8gb RAM
The older computer
2.53ghz Intel e7200 // 4gb HyperX // EVGA 9800 GTX 512mb // Win7
mac_mogul is offline  
Old 09-01-2004, 05:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 129
Default

If your going to replace the drive then yea you can pretty much get any IDE HD you want. If your going to put a new one in with the current, Make sure you got a extra bay and that the IDE cables aren't full on devices already.
__________________

-AnGuiSh- is offline  
Old 09-05-2004, 01:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
The Original Mac User
 
mac_mogul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: America
Posts: 1,515
Default

Okay.... But what I really need to know is where to get it? I've never had to order a PC part before. Before what I've done is gone to the nearest store, and just bought what I needed, but this time, the store doesn't have what I need so I'll have to order it.
__________________

17" MacBook Pro
2.3ghz Intel i7 // 8gb RAM
The older computer
2.53ghz Intel e7200 // 4gb HyperX // EVGA 9800 GTX 512mb // Win7
mac_mogul is offline  
Old 09-10-2004, 02:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
The Original Mac User
 
mac_mogul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: America
Posts: 1,515
Default

Okay thanks!

And I think I've found a correct HDD, but I'm really not sure. The old HDD has a big strip of black tape on it to prevent tampering, and it covers most of the info numbers. And when I went to, not only, the Compaq website, but the HDD manufacturer site(IBM/HITACHI), too. And neither had any info for this product on their respective databases.

Here's the link to the HDD that I found.
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...153-009&depa=3

Any more help would be greatly appreciated
__________________

17" MacBook Pro
2.3ghz Intel i7 // 8gb RAM
The older computer
2.53ghz Intel e7200 // 4gb HyperX // EVGA 9800 GTX 512mb // Win7
mac_mogul is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.