Installing hard drive problem! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2004, 01:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 125
Default Installing hard drive problem!

I got in my new Western Digital hard drive today and popped open my Dell. I went to read the instructions. They said that there will be 2 green rails in the 2nd hard drive bay....guess what, THERE ARENT! "Oh, wait," I says," Heres some spare ones on the inside of the case. I will just use these." I grab the two I need and free them from their holding places. I look at them and see that they have no screws to screw into the hard drive.....great.

I mean, what the **** is this!? They cant even give me two pieces of green plastic wth screws in them!?

What am I supposed to do!?

Seraph is offline  
Old 06-25-2004, 02:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 354

I don't know what you should do to place your HD in there but I just gotta say, "That's a Dell for ya!" I'm sure you can construct some way of fitting it in.

<font face=\"arial\" color=\"#414D6A\" size=\"1\">PC SPECS:</font>
<font face=\"arial\" size=\"1\">
AMD Bartion 2500+ 1800Mhz
PC2100 256Mb DDRAM x 2
LG 52x24x52 CD
Seagate 80Gb 7200rpm 2Mb
ATI Radeon 9550 256Mb 8x
Intergrated PCI sound
17\" Samsung LCD 173s
Ken Masters is offline  
Old 06-25-2004, 02:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 807

Seraph, if there's a computer shop near you, go there and tell them your situation. I dont' know the official name of the part i'm talkin about... it's just a regular metal piece with two tiny claw hooks on either side to hold the hard drive, and has holes on the front where you can fasten it to the PC case itself.

I have 3 hard drives inside my Dell pc... and it didnt' take anything extravagant. It does take some effort, but it can be done.
Lone Wolf is offline  
Old 06-25-2004, 02:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118

Lol, you can go to any computer/hardware store. Buy 4 of those screws and attach the green rails to the side of the HD.

Make sure that the tebs are facgin out so that to remove it you squeeze the 2 tabs together.

THen you can simply slide the HD into the slot.

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 06-25-2004, 03:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 125

Ok, thanks. All I need is the screws Dell pisses me off.
Seraph is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.