installing graphics cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2005, 05:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default installing graphics cards

if u buy a new graphics card, is it just a case on switching the cards, booting up and installing the new drivers? surely if ur card doesnt have n e drivers you wouldnt see n e thing on the monitor when you boot up?
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 05:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

You will need to get rid of every trace of your previous card. The best way of doing this is format.

There are generic drivers on your pc to get it working, but get the drivers straight away.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 08:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 94
Send a message via Yahoo to ice_snuff
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trifid
You will need to get rid of every trace of your previous card. The best way of doing this is format.

There are generic drivers on your pc to get it working, but get the drivers straight away.
if he formats won't he lose all his data?
__________________
Fujitsu-Siemens AmiloD
Pentium 4 @ 3.33 GHZ
1GB DDR SDRAM
128mb 9700 pro

and lyk half an hour of battery :P
(wish it was a powerbook)
ice_snuff is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 08:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

You will have to back up the things that you don't want to lose. But everything will be wiped.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 06-18-2005, 10:15 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

No need to reformat... yet.

If you're going from nvidia to nvidia, no problem. Or ati to ati, no problem.

If you're going from one to the other, you have to remove all traces of the original drivers BEFORE you put the other card in. Nvidia's drivers are pretty coopperative (I'm told) and clean up after themselves. ATI's aren't, so you need to get their uninstaller (it is a stand-alone uninstaller). No matter which you do, be sure to browse through your registry to make sure that nothing is left there, as well as browsing your harddrive to make sure that nothing was left there either.

Reformatting should always be a last option.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.