Installed a new processor and... Nothing. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2004, 12:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
Default Installed a new processor and... Nothing.

Time is of the essence so if anyone has a clue just what might be wrong - I am open to any suggestions.

Yesterday I bought a new processor:

Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 Processor 3E GHz, 1 MB L2-Cache, 800 MHz FSB, PGA-478

[http://www.intel.com/design/Pentium4/prodbref/]

And installed and but there's no booting at all, Display stays turned off.

My motherboard:

P4P800 (no deluxe or anything)

[http://www.asus.com/products/mb/sock...0/overview.htm]

Have I missed something in specifications? What am I doing wrong?

I am not much of a HarWare guy but I know how to read and use my brain and I've matched specifications. It clearly states in many places that that processor supports that chipset, posseses HT technology and et cetera, et cetera, et cetera.

Last thing that crosses my mind is that BIOS might require an update.


Quickly! Suggestions?
__________________

The Borg is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 12:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

what exactly happens when you hit the power button, plz explain. Does anything at all display, or does it power on and right off without a beep?
__________________

jseber1982 is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 12:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default

You need to update your bios to version 1016.
That should be the solution.
brinks is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 12:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Enterprise SCCM\SCOM
 
jseber1982's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 904
Send a message via ICQ to jseber1982 Send a message via AIM to jseber1982 Send a message via Yahoo to jseber1982
Default

if he cant boot to a display, how is he gunna update the bios?lol
jseber1982 is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 12:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

install old cpu, update bios to current version then reinstall new CPU. That should do the trick. Careful with the BIOS, follow the instructions carefully or you might damage your chip.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 03:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jseber1982
if he cant boot to a display, how is he gunna update the bios?lol
I have 3 other processors to use, and I stressed out that I bought a new one - meaning I still have old one (2.40 GHz).

Yeah, I figured that BIOS might be a solution. I am on to it now.
I'll keep you posted.
The Borg is offline  
Old 10-01-2004, 03:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 81
Default

A bit of delay, yes, but finally, I was able to resolve the problem: BIOS indeed was a problem. Functioning flawlessly now, overclocked it to 3.65 GHz.
__________________

The Borg is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.