Installed new Heatsink+Fan now comp will not start. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-18-2004, 03:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 65
Default

ok i looked where the procesor goes into the mother board i dont see any clamp that holds the chip inplace. ?
__________________

ProBaller25 is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 03:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 131
Default

I didn't catch what type of cpu chip we are dealing with..perhaps an Intel P4??? If so there is a small lever on the side of the boards pin array. It should be open when you insert the chip and then gently close the lever and cause it to be "latched" by hooking it under a very small indentation. A worry I have is if you had a hard time pulling the heatshield and hence the cpu chip from the MB as one the lever that holds the chip in place was already latched. Did you open it to insert the new chip????
If we are talking about a none P4 chip than my discussion is for naught.
__________________

Marvel is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 04:05 PM   #13 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 65
Default

GUys im home and im on the computer that was screwed up earlir.. About that lever that holds the chip down.. WELLLLLLL i didnt push it back down so it didnt engage the chip after i did that it turned on and all is well! WOOT i love u guys thanks for the tips!
ProBaller25 is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 04:08 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Great.

Funny how that works out, huh?
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 04:12 PM   #15 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 65
Default

Yea i love that! HEHE now ill know in the future. Hey my friend wanted to know one thing.. If you have your stock Heatsink is there a way to mount a fan on a stock heatsink without buying a new one?like screw it in inbetween the grille type looking thing on the top of the heatsink? I told him that didnt think there wasand that would probaly screw it up.
ProBaller25 is offline  
Old 11-18-2004, 04:31 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 131
Default

I am sure there is a boxed heatsink/fan for Intel. Do a google.
__________________

Marvel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.