Installed a Artic Cooling VGA Silencer on 9700 Pro and now my computer won't boot! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2004, 07:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6
Unhappy Installed a Artic Cooling VGA Silencer on 9700 Pro and now my computer won't boot!

First off let me give the basis as to what i have:

Crucial Radeon 9700 Pro
Chaintech VNF3-250
Athlon 64 2800+
1GB Ram

I just got the VGA Silencer Rev. 3 today. I took off the stock fan and cleaned the chip. I then applied the paste that was included with the VGA Silencer. I put it on and installed it back in. I boot up the computer and the computer makes about 3 loud beeping noises and nothing appears on the monitor. I tried reseating the 9700 Pro a few times. then i took off the VGA Silencer and reinstalled the stock fan. i'm praying that the 9700 didn't burn out or anything. I put back the VGA Silencer back on and the fan on it still works. the rest of the computer still has power to it.

Thanks in advanced!
__________________

chrs is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 07:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 517
Send a message via AIM to YourPrinter
Default

a. did u put too much paste?
b. did u put too little paste?
c. does the fan turn on?
__________________

__________________
YourPrinter is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 07:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

..... think 3 is no display.... but I can never remember beep codes. Were you using an esd braclet?
Sui is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 07:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by YourPrinter
a. did u put too much paste?
b. did u put too little paste?
c. does the fan turn on?
i feel like i put just the right amount of paste. the fan does turn on.

Quote:
Originally posted by Sui
..... think 3 is no display.... but I can never remember beep codes. Were you using an esd braclet?
there are 3 beeps. the first one is long and the last two are very short. i wasn't using a braclet
chrs is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 08:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

one long and two short is a display issue,...make sure the card is seated properly, so take it out and re-seat it. Also, if the card has an extra power cord, make sure that that is plugged in properly as well. I know that my 9800 pro has an extra power plug that comes straight from the PSU.
__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 08:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lev2323
one long and two short is a display issue,...make sure the card is seated properly, so take it out and re-seat it. Also, if the card has an extra power cord, make sure that that is plugged in properly as well. I know that my 9800 pro has an extra power plug that comes straight from the PSU.
i'll check that out. i know in the instructions there power cord has an A, B, and C. the A goes to the PSU plug. B goes into the Video card. C goes into a Hard Drive.

i've heard sometimes you have to reseat it a lot because of the AGP slot? i hope that's my case.
chrs is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 08:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

well you can e-mail whatever company makes your motherboard, and ask them what the code means.
Or
You can put another card in the slot and see if it boots up, because you most likly discharged into your video card thus frying it out, and maybe the agp port too, along with anything else in your computer.
Sui is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 08:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sui
well you can e-mail whatever company makes your motherboard, and ask them what the code means.
Or
You can put another card in the slot and see if it boots up, because you most likly discharged into your video card thus frying it out, and maybe the agp port too, along with anything else in your computer.
that scares me. i have an old pci video card on a Pentium 486
that i'll try. i have a chaintech and from what i heard their support sucks. man...
chrs is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 08:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 6
Default

i put the old PCI Video Card in and everything works. i guess i burnt out the card. i guess that means i have to buy a new one and not to mod it.

if it safe to test the "burnt" out card in someone else's computer?
chrs is offline  
Old 11-26-2004, 08:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

Sure if you have esd protection.
__________________

Sui is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.