Installation help plz. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2004, 11:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to ben2the4th Send a message via Yahoo to ben2the4th
Angry Installation help plz.

I just purchased a Microsoft Wireless Bluetooth Keyboard and mouse for $100 but I'm having trouble installing it. When i put the installation CD in it said i need to download The Microsoft Service Pack 2 and it also said i needed to backup all critical files. I don't know how to do that and i dont understand why i need to download it when its just a keyboard. I was hoping for a smooth installation but I'm getting the opposite.

ben2the4th is offline  
Old 09-03-2004, 11:13 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 141
Send a message via AIM to ben2the4th Send a message via Yahoo to ben2the4th

The thing i need to know now is if i should backup the files and how do i do it.

ben2the4th is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 01:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 56

I don't see why it requires you to install SP2 to install a bluetooth keyboard. See if you can somehow skip it, or just let windows XP install the keyboard itself.

It's recommending you to backup your files so that incase something horrible happens during SP2 upgrade, you won't lose everything.
NoodleKnight is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 01:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714

are you sure its not just the automatic updates interrupting your install?
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
Avatar - Infiniti G35
koldapu is offline  
Old 09-04-2004, 03:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124

go to the website and read up on why the installer is requireing you to do that .As far as backing up just create a restore point .
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.