Install of newer HD on older PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 05-27-2003, 10:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default Install of newer HD on older PC

I don't know how many of you know me well, but I am studying in a trade school to be a technician and well, here's my problem:
I bet that most of you can not even believe that I am working on a museum piece such as this Packard Bell Legend 66 Supreme, but I am. This old PB has a Pheonix BIOS that doesn't support auto-detect and has only the original presets. I have a newer Western Digital HD of about 2Gb which I am trying to install. I have used the WD utilities (new version and older) to no avail. The new HD is still undetected by the BIOS. If anyone out there has any tips or a link to a nice utility that might help me resolve my issue, I would be very thankful.

Old 05-27-2003, 12:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Send a message via AIM to deadtoaster2

i did something similar with a pacbell not sure what type but i was having that problem too. if you havent allready tried it restart computer and go into bios. (think its F1) then just configure all your drives there. it worked 4 me. good luck seeya

Old 05-28-2003, 10:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie

" It's a limitation of the motherboard and bios."

Is there any way around it? I've tried using the Western Digital utilities on their web site but I'm still having the problem. Also, when I set the drive stats manually, it only reads 200Megs of the 2Gb HD. I was told there was supposed to be a few progs that would fool the BIOS into reading the whole drive but I can't seem to find any.
Old 05-28-2003, 12:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie

Send a message via AIM to neb1211 Send a message via Yahoo to neb1211

if you feel confortable you could always try flashing the bios. This could fry your motherboard though so do this at your own risk.