install a 2nd cable modem? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2007, 05:16 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
CrazeD's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD

How were you planning to run a modem into it if the cable won't reach?

Routers are usually between 50 - 100$, depending on what you get.


Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-17-2007, 04:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 45

Originally posted by CrazeD
How were you planning to run a modem into it if the cable won't reach?

Routers are usually between 50 - 100$, depending on what you get.
an ethernet cord wouldnt reach, cable coaxal is split to every room, so i'd just plug coaxal into it as i have this one.

so i guess i'm assuming just buying another modem wont work? and i need this router

how do i set a router up, what parts do i need?
i'd still like to know why a second modem wouldnt work since i already have braudband

dcyphure is offline  
Old 02-19-2007, 07:58 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 162
Send a message via AIM to Nissanspecv04

Purchasing a 2nd cable modem will work. I used 2 modems for a while at my house, one in the living room and one in the bedroom. I noticed a speed difference due to the splitters behind the living room.

If you decide to go with another modem just contact your service provided to make sure the modem works. Sounds silly I know but some modems and services just dont work together.

If you wanted to set up the other computer to be on a wireless network it is quite easy but can be time consuming. You would need a wireless router which would plug into your current cable modem and a pci wireless card for the computer in the other room. You can follow the instructions that come on a cd/dvd with practically ever wireless router purchase to set it up and make it secure so your neighbors cant access your wireless network.

Now depending on how far apart your wireless router and computer with wireless card are you may need a range extender and thats about 50+ dollars and can be difficult to set up. Personally I would go through the trouble of using a cat5 cable. Just plug in the router, plug in the cat5's and your done.
Nissanspecv04 is offline  
Old 02-23-2007, 12:50 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119

2 modems will compete for bandwidth- leading to inefficient use of it. A router will much more efficiently accomplish what you are trying to accomplish.

Intel C2D E6300 @3.00 Ghz
Asus P5B-E
Antec Nine Hundred
HiPer 580 PSU
evga 8800 GTS 320 MB
G. Skill 2 GB DDR2 860
Seagate 250 GB sata 2 HD
Chimei 22\" Widescreen LCD
leje0306 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.