Inserted new RAM, pc wouldn't boot - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2004, 12:28 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

that isnt a good sign, i would bring it to ur closest pc place and get them to test the ram, both the 512 and 128.
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 12:35 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 17
Default

**** IT ANYWAY
__________________

ShadowFax is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 12:52 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 2,258
Default

Are you getting any beeps at all?
Also the burning smell, you need to find where it came from. That will tell you what happened.
I know this sounds weird, but unmount the Mobo and start smelling at it. You will know where the problem came from as soon as you smell it.
It is possible that something shorted and the board is now toast. But you need to identify the burn location.
Inaris is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 01:09 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Uh...I know Unaris and Toast are covering a lot of the bases, but...has anyone tried plugging a different vidcard into this box?

If the fans are coming on and he's not getting any beeps, he could have fried a lot of stuff. Could be the vid card, could be the motherboard, could be the RAM...could be all three.

And yeah. Smell...definately bad.

You may not be able to see any signs of burn damage. If you have another vidcard (or if yer mainboard has a vid-card integrated into it) try switching. You already ruled out that the RAM isn't the problem. After vid-card comes motherboard. Check it's mf site for testing details.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 03:16 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

Whatever you do, don't plug anything else until you have located the faulty component (Sorry shoobierat). The reason is simple, if i your MOBO is shorted out and took your video or RAM out, putting in new one will simply fry them too.

You can try your vid card and RAM in another computer if you want without danger but don't plug anything new on that MOBO until you proved it serv....
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 03:25 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

True.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 03:31 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

ShadowFax, time to buy another motherboard. It is fried. If you smelt something burning in your system, it was the memory in the memory slot. Bad deal for sure but there is nothing else you can do. Good work guys!! You gave him lots of help but the motherboard is dead.
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 03:39 PM   #18 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

To find nice mobos at good prices go to www.pricewatch.com
asus got some good ones, i recommend them.
pricewatch get the lowest prices for all computer components from different websites, its real usefull www.zipzoomfly.com, www.newegg.com are good also
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 04:11 PM   #19 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 17
Default

Can anyone tell me how me putting in the RAM could blow anything??

Literally I put it in, then when I booted up, bang.....****ing nothin
ShadowFax is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 04:24 PM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

1. Bad RAM
2. Bad slot
3. Incompatible types
4. Bad mobo
5. OCed RAM setup with unsupporting RAM
6. Cheap board/RAM
7. Rough install
8. RAM-stick board wrong width (does happen sometimes)
9. Dirt in RAM slot
10. Dirt dislodged or entered PC upon work, shorting out a circuit
11. Power surge
12. Bumped another connection on the board (such as PS connector) causing bad-connection surge
13. helpmeplease came in and cut one of your wires

Could be a number of reasons. Pick your number.

** Oh oh, forgot one more! 14. STATIC **
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.