Ink refilling kits - Do you use them? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 11-08-2003, 07:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie

Default Ink refilling kits - Do you use them?

Hey there, I'm a student, and I own a Lexmark X85 all-in-one. Its a pretty nifty machine, but now its become useless because my black ink cartridge is out. I checked at the Lexmark website to find that a black cartridge costs 36.99 American (That's like: $54 Canadian!). With that price, I could buy whole new printer that comes with a black and color cartridge, and the cartridges wouldn't cost so much to replace. (My roomate owns an extra printer: An Epson).

I was going to buy it from him, and stick that extra printer in my room, but Doesn't that defeat the purpose of an all in one? To save space? It certainly is nice to have my printer, scanner, photocopier all in one compact machine. Saves a good deal of space in my little rented room.

So instead I bought an ink refill kit (about $50). I drilled a hole into my black cartridge and filled it with ink. It Still doesn't work though. The tech support guy at Lexmark said: Those ink refill kits haven't passed "Lexmark safety approval" yet, and using them will damage the printer over time because the printer tries to force the ink out of the cartridge to no avail, so it keeps trying and trying and wears out the motors.

Is this guy full of it? What should I do?
Does everyone just buy new printers all the time? Is there a landfill full of printers somewhere?

Old 11-09-2003, 11:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie

Send a message via AIM to Emily

I'm not exactly sure where, but you can get cartridges for a fraction of the price on the Internet. My dad buys Epson ones online for about $5 instead of the $30 that Epson charges.

Old 11-09-2003, 12:25 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie