info processers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-23-2004, 07:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
mlr
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 326
Default info processers

hi all i was wondering if someone can give me a little info on processers i want to know how you know what processers fit certain boards im only a noob so could you please keep it as simple as possible please hope im not asking too much thanks in advance
__________________

mlr is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 07:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 23
Default

Hi there,

Firstly I should stress I'm no expert on sockets and processors myself - in the end it comes down to knowing that x processor uses y socket. How you determine this is often in the spec of the processor itself. A couple of years ago when I wanted to upgrade my processor, motherboard and memory I soon discovered only Socket A boards were good for the Athlon XP I was going to use.

I've just found this article here; http://www.techsupportalert.com/pdf/t1053.pdf. If you can skip through the jargon it tells you what processors used/use which sockets. However I must be fairly old as I don't think it includes today's P4s and Athlon XPs and 64s.

This article here describes the Athlon 64s. It seems the Athlon 64 uses Socket 745 while the Athlon 64 FX uses Socket 940.

Do you know off-hand whether you're more interested in Intel or AMD processors?
__________________

Dante is offline  
Old 06-23-2004, 07:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 23
Default

Sorry I've neglected Intel in the above. You should find one of these useful;

http://www.intel.com/products/deskto...sors/pentium4/
http://indigo.intel.com/compare_cpu/...p4f+proc_spef&

From the second link you can compare processors and if you select 'Boards' as an additional spec to compare there is a 'Compatible boards' link presented in the row of each processor.

For AMD, the following link is useful; http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/...?redir=HOM001. If you click on 'Competitive comparison' on the right side of a page once you have clicked a particular processor one of the first columns is 'Infrastructure' which confirms the sockets of the AMD and equivalent Intel processor.
Dante is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.