Info on large hard disks with Win XP pro

Status
Not open for further replies.

Prof. Plum

Solid State Member
I posted a message a while ago, I said I would post again with the result.

I built my own PC :- IC7 Max3, 1 Gb RAM (crucial), Sony DVD rewriter, Serail ATA Maxtor 160Gb, Leadtek FX5950 A380 ultra.

The problem :- Hard disk was only recognised as 127Gb after WinXP Pro installed

To recognise hard disks bigger than 127 or 137Gb you have to install service pack 1 (SP1), after this if you go into disk management (right click my computer, manage, storage, disk management), then you can see 26Gb that is unallocated, basically reformat this portion and give it a drive name, I chose E: cos my DVD was on D:

Anyway that's what I did, but I'm new to this. There is a file for 48LBA enabled, Maxblast 3, etc.... but I didn't have to do this

if you posted this question likely someone answered back with SP1. can you tell me what your thread subject was named or some keywords you used in your thread so i can search for this thread?

you may be able to use partition magic to merge the unallocated space to combine into 1 large 160GB partition. i hate how people always suggest Partition Magic , but this is one of the times it is useful.

if it was me i would save all data and recreate the partition into 1 large 160GB volume by installing winxp sp1 onto another hard disk, slave this 160GB disk and use the winxp sp1 running on the other disk along with disk management to re-partition the 160GB disk into 1 large 160GB partition

my question is why are you using any partition over 120GB? creating a 15-20GB partition for the operating system and create a partition for data would be more efficient. when you reinstall winxp you could use norton ghost to create an image of winxp partition onto the data partition. when winxp fails, restore the ghost image back and you're back in business. compared to manual winxp re-install it takes ghost 5 minutes versus 3 hours +