Increased buffer size? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2004, 06:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Question Increased buffer size?

I worked at Staples, and I had a guycome in once looking for a DVD burner with a really big buffer size. The bigest one we had was 2.5 MB, and he said that was way to small and taking a step down. He told me his buffer was 20 MB!!! I know they dont sell (yet) DVD Burners with that size buffer, and he told me he did it himself, anway. He said his buddy had a program that would do it. I wanted to know if he was right, and, if so, how to do it. Or was he just shooting smoke up my maximus?
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 06:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

I have the feeling he's talking about the software buffer itself. For example, clone cd. the drives have a small buffer size themselves, but what he is talking about is buffer used by the software. kind of think of it like this. hardware buffer would alike to computer memory. software buffer would alike to virtual memory (HDD). so, in a way he's right, but he's right in such a wrong way
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 07:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Not sure I copy what you mean. No, wait, scratch that. I DEFINETELY dont understand what you mean. I'm a very smart computer guy, so dont think of me as dumb for not knowing what you mean.
Him is offline  
Old 05-05-2004, 09:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Him
Not sure I copy what you mean. No, wait, scratch that. I DEFINETELY dont understand what you mean. I'm a very smart computer guy, so dont think of me as dumb for not knowing what you mean.
The cd-burner has its own RAM so to speak, its buffer. What buring programs do is they allocate a section of your computer ram and use it for a temp buffer. And in most cases you can tell the program how much to allocate in the system memory for that burning session.
ChaosBlizzard is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.