Incompatable harware...???? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2003, 01:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3
Angry Incompatable harware...????

Help....end of the road...surely the only way is up..?? Just bought a new Asus motherboard(A7N266-VM) with Athlon XP1900 & 256 DDR. Put in my old 30gig Maxtor HDD & Gforce 2 Ti. Have Windows XP pro. First problem - wouldn't boot past the Window XP logon screen, just switched itself off. No matter what i did. Someone mentioned a clean install - tried it but always got a fatl error screen. Tried disabling the Bios cache but windows always froze on the setup screen(i.e the one where it has the time to go on the left hand side..)Took an absolute age to get there also it was loading real slow. Don't know what to try next......Are there any Bios changes i need to do..?? Is the HDD incompatable..?? It worked no problem on my other mboard(running WinXp, Athlon 750) If anyone could help i would appreciate it..

dannyk is offline  
Old 01-14-2003, 01:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 6

if you hit the F8 button and tried to go in under safe mode, were you able to get thru? Of course i would then make sure that you had a bare minumum of components installed, ie pull your sound card, modem, networking etc. And try setup defaults in the bios
were you using the same memory on the other setup?

dukusuckers is offline  
Old 01-14-2003, 08:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 3

I now only have the one problem - whenever i boot the machine the fan starts & thats it...nothing more. If i remove the ribbon from the HDD but keep the power on then it sounds as if its going to start up then nothing too. I havr changed the jumpers on the mboard but to no avail....One word..............HELP.................
dannyk is offline  
Old 01-14-2003, 08:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
<a href="" target="_blank"><img src="" /></a>
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv

Unfortunatly, the troublshooting in this is slow and painful, you have to remove hardware and try booting, but you need toi remove them one by one to see which piece is the problem.

I would suggest borrowing a different hard drive as well. then remove everything but the stuff neccesary to boot, HDD, CPU, RAM, Video Card.
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.