IM SO PISSED OF AT WD!! Clicking noise!! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2005, 02:55 AM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Uhhh no...he simply said the only way you could run SATA, never that it would worth it
precisely

and a web server has to handle the traffic also. often it can bog down a CPU even if it's designed for multitasking

my point was that Celerons are not just a big piece of crap CPU. give it a video card like, say a 9600, and it will be able to run games like HL2 and Doom 3 with relative ease.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 02:58 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
precisely

and a web server has to handle the traffic also. often it can bog down a CPU even if it's designed for multitasking

my point was that Celerons are not just a big piece of crap CPU. give it a video card like, say a 9600, and it will be able to run games like HL2 and Doom 3 with relative ease.
Celerons are ok The only thing that sets celerons apart from pentiums is just L2 cache. But you have to remember that we are talking about a 667mhz celeron. So SATA is not an affordable/effective option.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 04:32 AM   #13 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

The clicking noise is because of head crash, maybe the drive experienced a big shock. Anyway it's about to die.
__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 05:35 AM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by uzi9mm
Celerons are ok The only thing that sets celerons apart from pentiums is just L2 cache. But you have to remember that we are talking about a 667mhz celeron. So SATA is not an affordable/effective option.
yes I know that, but I was making a point about this comment:
"The words SATA & Celeron do not belong together."

bah.... I don't want an argument
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 05:37 AM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

if i had to buy a new hd, i'd still buy a sata hd even if i had a non-sata mobo.
LoTeX is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 05:57 AM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

PCI SATA controller $18.50
it also doubles as a Raid 0/1 controller

to be honest though, I don't think SATA offers much speed increase.
the fastest IDE and SATA hard drives output about a maximum of 75-80MB/S
IDE can output 100MB/S
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 07:02 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 415
Default

didnt u just say the fastest ide/sata can output is 75-80 and the next sentence is ide can output at 100
__________________
Fear is nothing but the anticipation of pain, be it physical, mental, spiritual or emotional.
specs.
Athlon XP 2200+ oc\'ed @ 1.93ghz
MSI ms-6738
768mb ddr2100
Nvidia mx420 :(
60gig maxtor 7200rpm
Dual boot with Mandrake 10.0 and Win XP Pro sp2
neversleeps is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 08:00 AM   #18 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
my point was that Celerons are not just a big piece of crap CPU. give it a video card like, say a 9600, and it will be able to run games like HL2 and Doom 3 with relative ease.
For a moment there i thought i would have to go and grab betsy and do some hunting for celeron basher's
Shumway is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 10:44 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 199
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
PCI SATA controller $18.50
it also doubles as a Raid 0/1 controller

to be honest though, I don't think SATA offers much speed increase.
the fastest IDE and SATA hard drives output about a maximum of 75-80MB/S
IDE can output 100MB/S
just curious, I thought SATA offer dedicated channel and 1.5G of transfer rate, shouldn't that out perform an IDE???
hkfnstang is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 11:29 AM   #20 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shumway
For a moment there i thought i would have to go and grab betsy and do some hunting for celeron basher's
I have nothing against celerons. I had one at 1 point. And that thing was an OC'er.
__________________

__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.