Im confused - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2005, 11:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 377
Red face Im confused

Let me explain this better. I have a old computer and a new one that im building. The old computer has a Maxtor 40gig diamond plus 8 ATA in it with a motherboard that supports ATA 33/66/100. My new computer will have a motherboard that supports ATA 33/66/100/133. I cant figure out if I should (or can) just take the old hard drive out and put it on my new PC for now and buy a ATA 100 hard drive for the old computer (my kids will use the old computer when im done) or should I buy a new ATA 133 for my new computer. Or does it matter if I buy a Seagate 100 for my new motherboard(supports 33/66/100/133) or can I even use a ATA 150 for my new motherboard even though it doesnt support ATA 150. Im lost. I think I might be looking at this whole ATA concept wrong. I mean doesnt the higher ATA mean the faster the Hard drive? I dont know what too do....
__________________

Mandingo is offline  
Old 05-13-2005, 11:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

never mind, forget wht i said in my last post

i can't find any ATA133 seagates, but just go for a 100 then, a few seconds slower can't hurt you (doubt the difference is that big though)
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 12:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 377
Default

Can a SATA work in a mobo that supports ATA 33/66/100/133?
__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 12:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

does your mobo support SATA?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 12:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 377
Default

Well this mobo is a MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum. It does not say it does.

P.S. Dont let me confuse you with all the different computers Im working with. I have 2 new computers and a old one Im working on.
__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 12:21 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

k8n neo2 platinum?

i'm pretty sure a regular neo2 can support SATA, check msi's site
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 12:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 377
Default

Yep, you are right it does.
__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 12:33 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 377
Default

How can the K8N Neo2 support SATA but not ATA 150?
__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 12:44 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

there's no such thing as ATA150

ATA100=100mb/sec
ATA133=133mb/sec
SATA=150mb/sec <---that's probably what you're thinking about?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-14-2005, 01:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 377
Default

You are most likely right. It just says on the Specs - Interface: Serial ATA150 and under Features: SATA interface with ECQ. If I could figure out how to link I would lik it. Its Seagate baracuda 7200.7 SATA 80 GB for 62.25 and of course always on newegg.
__________________

__________________


CPU - Intel Core i5-3570K Ivy Bridge 3.4GHz
Mobo - ASRock Z77 Extreme4
GPU - EVGA 02G-P4-3660-KR GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GB
RAM - G.SKILL 8GB DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
H.D. - Corsair Force Series GT 120GB SATA III (SSD)
PSU - CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX650 V2 650W ATX12V
Case - COOLER MASTER Storm Scout
Monitor - Dual Hanns-G HW191D 19" Flat Panel
OS - Windows 7 Home 64 bit
Mandingo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.